如果您热爱自然,喜欢徒步,以色列国家步道就是观察和体验以色列的最佳路线。以色列国家步道于1996年建成,北起基布兹丹,南至埃拉特野外学校,贯穿了整个国家。步道全长1100公里,分为45个部分。沿着步道徒步的旅行者可以选择走完全长,或是其中不同的地段,决定走完全程的人可以在30至60天内完成行程。除了沿步道徒步,自步道开放之日起,就发展出许多其他选项:现在有可供骑自行车和越野车通过的特殊地段。

 

由于沿途设置了许多简单路标,导航相当便捷。三个垂直条纹(白色在右,蓝色居中,橙色在左)指示行走的方向。如果白色条纹高于其他两个,那就意味着您正从南往北走(白色象征着以色列北部山区的积雪);如果橙色条纹高于其他两个,那就意味着您正从北向南行进(橙色象征沙漠)。

 

沿着步道,穿过“山丘、森林、城市、村庄、乡村聚落、溪流、泉水,沿着道路和自然保护区,毗邻历史遗址和独特的自然现象,” 设计规划步道的以色列自然保护协会(SPNI)网站上,有着这样的介绍,从中您可以找到各种各样的过夜选项。作为期望享受广泛户外活动的爱好者,您的过夜首选就是睡在睡袋或帐篷中,天似穹庐,繁星如盖。如果您作此选择,请务必确保要在步道地图上标明的指定露营区方可。如果您厌倦了睡帐篷,还有种类繁多的其他选项:可以在居民家中住宿,住青年旅社、田间学校和口碑良好的住宿和早餐度假村,都会令您有宾至如归的感受。

 

如果您决定要沿步道徒步,不要错失良机,要去见见“步道天使”,他们就是步道边的居民,愿意伸出援助之手,关心徒步旅行者的安危。他们经常会提供住宿,帮助救援行动,并以极低价格或免费提供咖啡和用餐。步道沿途共有约260位个人、家庭和乡间居民点被命名为“步道天使”,在下面链接中,您可以找的用希伯来文标明的他们的名字和地址。文档是按照路段划分,这样可以便于找到相应位置的天使。除了链接中提供的信息,通常可以从步道上的其他徒步旅行者那里,获得更新的相关信息,比如与您相向而行或相同方向前进的旅行者。以色列人是非常开放,并且热情好客,所以不要害羞:您尽可向以色列远足者提问咨询,请求他们提供建议或援助。

 

以色列以这条步道为荣,据SPNI估计,已有数以十万计的以色列和国外旅行者在步道上行走。除了个人和团体使用步道之外,这里常常出于不同的环境或社会原因举办各种比赛,例如提高对找到治愈肌萎缩侧索硬化疾病的方法的认识,纪念阵亡士兵,甚至大学生组织的联合徒步旅行聚会。

 

以色列国家步道得到了国际上的认可。《国家地理杂志》将之命名为20条最佳徒步步道之一,称其为史诗般的步道。为解释他们做出如此选择的原因,《国家地理杂志》评委表示,步道将民族遗产和民族文化融入自然历史当中,其中即包含许多圣经中的风景,也有现代以色列人的日常生活常态。

The Israel National Trail is one of the best ways to see and experience Israel if you love nature and love hiking. Inaugurated in 1996, the Israel National Trail traverses Israel from Kibbutz Dan in the north to the Eilat Field School in the south. It is 1,100 kilometers long and is divided into 45 sections. Hikers along the trail can either walk its entire length or choose sections in various parts of the country; those who decide to walk the whole length can do so in anywhere between 30 and 60 days. In addition to hiking along the trail, other options have developed since the trail was first inaugurated: There are now special sections for cyclists and for terrain vehicles.

 

Navigating along the trail is rather easy thanks to the simple signs that are employed. Three vertical stripes (white on the right, blue in the middle and orange on the left) indicate the direction of walking. If the white stripe is higher than the other two, that means you are walking from south to north (white symbolizing the snow in Israel’s northernmost mountains); if the orange stripe is higher than the other two, that means you are walking from north to south (orange symbolizing the sands of the desert).

 

Along the trail, which passes through “hills, forests, cities, villages, rural settlements, streams, springs, alongside roads and nature reserves, and adjacent to historical sites and unique natural phenomena,” as one can read in the website of the Society for the Protection of Nature in Israel (SPNI), which planned the trail, you can find a variety of options for spending the night. As one would expect when enjoying the wide outdoors, your first option for spending the night is to sleep under the canopy of stars outside in a sleeping bag or a tent. If you choose that option, you should make sure that you do so in one of the defined sleeping areas indicated on the trail map. If you become fed up with sleeping in a tent, there is a wide range of other options: families that will host you in their home, youth hostels, field schools and prestigious bed-and-breakfast resorts that will pamper you.

 

If you decide to hike along the trail, you should not pass up the opportunity of meeting with one of the “angels of the trail,” that is, residents who live along the trail and who help out, and are concerned for the welfare of, hikers. Often they will offer lodging for the night, help in rescue operations and provide coffee and meals at no cost – or at a very low cost. About 260 individuals, families and rural settlements along the trail are defined as “angels of the trail” and you can find their names and addresses in Hebrew in the next link. The file is divided into trail sections, which makes it easier to find these angels. In addition to the information provided in this link, you can often obtain relevant, up-to-date data from other hikers on the trail, such as those walking in the opposite direction or those walking alongside you. Israelis are very open and very hospitable, so do not be shy: You can ask the Israeli hikers questions and request their recommendations or assistance.

 

Israel is very proud of this trail and the SPNI estimates that hundreds of thousands of hikers have already walked along it – both Israelis and tourists from abroad. In addition to individuals and groups using the trail, often special marches are organized for different environmental or social causes – such as marches for increasing the awareness of the need to find a cure for ALS, marches in memory of fallen soldiers, or even bachelor parties in the form of a joint hike.

 

The Israel National Trail has earned international recognition. The National Geographic magazine has named it one of the 20 best hiking trails, giving it the rank of an epic trail. In explaining their choice, the judges at National Geographic stated that the trail blends national heritage and national culture with nature and history and contains many biblical landscapes as well as landscapes from the day-to-day lives of modern Israelis.