海豚礁(Dolphins’ Reef)是以色列最南端小镇埃拉特(Eilat)最有特色的旅游项目之一。这个红海边上的生态景点让游客能观察、体验甚至配合那些生活在自然栖息地的海豚。该景点自1990年向公众开放,设在埃拉特最南端的一处U型礁周围,坐拥群山碧海的壮丽自然美景。共有六只海豚在此地栖息、捕食、戏耍、求爱、交际。这里注重人类与周边生物的关系,因此与这些海豚的互动是一种独特、扣人心弦和震撼的体验。

 

 

如今栖息此地的六只海豚中,只有一只是俄罗斯海军赠送的。这些海豚都来自黑海。与大多数圈养受捕的海豚的池子不同,这个保护区的初衷是展示海豚是如何在自然环境中生活的。起初它们是“开放海域”计划的组成部分。在计划下,海豚可以无拘无束地在远海中畅游,并按照自己的意愿回到此处。2002年,由于环保人士对这一做法持有异议,并且鉴于多个海滩中游泳者的不恰当行为,这一政策遂被废除,如今这些海豚被圈养在礁内。海豚数量在高峰时达到13只;“开放海域”政策废除后,海豚被限制在礁内活动,导致海豚之间的关系日益紧张,最终导致一些海豚被放归远海。

 

 

个人和家庭可以在海豚礁享受各种各样的活动乐趣。主要的活动当然是通过浮筒观景点接近海豚,从而与海豚互动但又不会打扰海豚的日常生活。最有特色的活动莫过于在专业人员的指导下与海豚一起游泳或潜水,游客可以与海豚为伴一小时或数小时,在水下观察它们并一起游玩。海豚礁的宁静水池也非常有名,这个水池位于郁郁葱葱的植物园里,是清净的场所,人们可以坐在池畔放松身心,欣赏海景,远离日常琐事。海豚礁还举行各种适合团体和个人参加的论坛和讨论,内容丰富多彩,从海水流动、人类与海豚,到神话与现实等等,不一而足。

 
海豚礁流传的其中一个最著名故事是Sharon Tendler(一位经常来访此地的游客)和Cindy(海豚群的首领)于2005年在海豚礁举行的“婚礼”。Sharon是英国人,来到海豚礁并在此住了多年。她在水下与Cindy相处了很久,直到决定嫁给牠。Sharon身穿白色衣服,头戴花环,在水下举行婚礼。然而,即使没有这个故事,Cindy也会是埃拉特最著名的海豚。二十世纪九十年代末,他与其它海豚一起从黑海来到海豚礁,并成为埃拉特礁海豚群的首领。他照顾此地出生的所有海豚。2006年Cindy去世,大约40岁,并葬在大海中。

Dolphins’ Reef is one of the most unusual attractions in the southernmost town of Eilat, and even in the whole of Israel. This ecological site by the Red Sea enables visitors to watch, experience and even interact with dolphins in their natural habitat. The site, opened to the general public in 1990, was built on a U-shaped reef in Eilat with magical vistas of the mountains and the sea.  The site is inhabited by a pod of six dolphins who live, hunt, play, court and socialise in the natural surroundings.  The operator of the location emphasises the importance of strengthening the ties between human beings and the creatures that surround us. Therefore, it boasts a powerful, unique and emotional experience of interacting with the dolphins at the site.

 

 

Of the six dolphins living at the site, only one came to the reef as a gift from the Russian navy. The dolphins were taken from their home in the Black Sea to the current site. The site, unlike most of the others in which dolphins are kept in a closed area, initially aimed at showing how the dolphins lived in their natural surroundings as part of an “open sea” policy.  Under such policy, the reef dolphins were free to swim in the high seas without restriction, and they could return to the reserve whenever they wanted.  In 2002, environmentalists disagreed with this practice concerning of the unpredictable behaviour of bathers who encountered dolphins at various beaches; the policy was overturned.  Today,  the dolphins are confined to the reef. At its peak, the ridge contained 13 dolphins, but once the open sea system was abandoned, tension arose among the dolphins so that some of them were freed to roam the high seas.

 

 

There is a lot of activities on the reef that can be enjoyed by individuals, couples and families with children. The primary activity, of course, is to interact with the dolphins which can be approached via floating pontoons and observation posts, without disturbing their daily life. A unique experience is a guided swimming or diving tour with the dolphins; for an hour or more, visitors can swim with them underwater and enjoy their company. The site is also famous for its tranquil ponds situated in shady niches in the midst of a delightful green botanical garden. For those who intend to clear their mind and find peace, tranquillity and self-indulgence, and to stay away from daily grinds, they can sit and relax beside the pools with a sea view. The Reef also offers workshops and talks that are suitable for groups and individuals, covering subjects like the movement of waters, man and dolphin, myth and reality, and more.

 
One of the most popular stories on the site is the “wedding” that took place between Sharon Tendler, a regular visitor of the site, and Cindy, the leader of the pod of dolphins, on the reef in 2005. Tendler, who is from the United Kingdom, came to the reef and stayed there for many years. She spent a lot of time under the water with Cindy until she decided to marry him. The ceremony, for which Sharon wore white with a garland of flowers on her head, was held for them in water.  Even without this unusual story, Cindy would be one of the most famous dolphins in Eilat. He arrived at the Dolphin Reef in late 1990, together with the rest of the dolphins from the Black Sea, and became the leader of the pod on the reef in Eilat, fathering all the dolphins who were born there. In 2006, when he was about 40 years old, Cindy died and was buried out at the high seas.