以色列的网球运动

以色列的网球运动

网球运动早在20世纪初便已在以色列兴起了。1939年,主要来自奥地利和德国的欧洲移民成立了特拉维夫马卡比网球俱乐部。这个俱乐部只有两个多用途球场,由以色列网球运动员使用,大多数由以色列举办的国际赛事以及戴维斯杯也在这里举行。从上世纪20年代开始,国际网球联合会旗下共注册成立了约12个网球协会,其中最大的就是以色列网球中心,该中心在以色列国内共设有14个分中心。以色列的大部分城镇、村庄和农场里都建有网球场,其中最大、最有名的包括:位于Rokach大街的北特拉维夫马卡比网球场以及Hadar Yosef网球综合馆。

以色列网球中心是该国最大的网球协会。该协会为非盈利性组织,由一群来自美国和英国的体育爱好者于1976年成立。协会在众生平等、机会均等的基础上,旨在为“通过网球传授生活的真谛”,在大众中普及这项运动。协会倡导的网球活动包括幼儿项目、竞赛项目以及有2万多名儿童参与的网球学院。协会旗下共设有14个网球中心,约有172块全天候球场及5个红土球场,还提供健身房和教室等附加服务。该中心共培养了超过35万名学生,已经发展成为了世界上最大的网球学校,以色列的很多网球运动员都是从这里走出去的。

 

从1981年开始,以色列的网球开始取得重大的国际成就,Shlomo Glickstein在当年转为职业网球选手。除了国际排名跃升至第22位外,Glickstein还因在蒙特卡洛锦标赛上战胜了伊万.伦德尔而声名大振。随后的几年中,他甚至曾一度在罗兰.加洛斯打入了男双决赛。以色列网坛最为著名的运动员之一是Amos Manddorf,他是继Glickstein之后80年代另一位加入职业联赛的选手。1987年,Mansdorf的世界排名达到了以色列网球选手历史最高的第18位。他在法国伯西锦标赛上相继战胜了Boris Becker 和Michael Stich—当时的温网冠军后达到了这一排名。

 

双打选手Andy Ram和Yoni Erlich以及女运动员Shahar Pe’er使以色列的网球排名重新回到了国际水平。Andy Ram和Yoni Erlich,也被昵称为Andyoni,是以色列网球运动史上最为成功的双打运动员。他们赢得了多项赛事:获得了大满贯(澳网公开赛),打入奥运会四分之一决赛以及戴维斯杯半决赛。2008年,二人的ATP(职业网球联合会)排名跃升至首位。Shahar Pe’er是另一位令以色列骄傲的伟大球员。她是史上最成功的女性球员,巅峰时期曾排名世界第11位。她曾打入多项赛事决赛并获胜。她的个人记录包括一项大满贯女单四分之一决赛以及一项大满贯双打决赛。2014年,在以色列独立日的中央仪式上,她点燃了象征着伟大荣誉的火炬。

Tennis in Israel

Tennis in Israel

Tennis has been played in Israel since the early twentieth century. In 1939, the Maccabi Tel Aviv Tennis Club was formed by immigrants from Europe, mainly Austria and Germany. The Maccabi Tel Aviv Tennis Club just had two gravel courts and was used by tennis players in Israel and it was where most of Israel’s international championships and Davis Cup matches were held. Since the 1920s, approximately120 registered tennis associations have been formed under the Tennis Federation, the largest being the Israel Tennis Center, which has about 14 centers nationwide. In Israel there are tennis courts in most towns, villages and kibbutzim. The largest and most famous tennis courts in Israel are: the Maccabi North Tel Aviv on Rokach Blvd, and the Hadar Yosef tennis complex.

 

 

The Israel Tennis Center is the largest tennis association in Israel. The center was founded in 1976 by a group of sports enthusiasts from the USA and England as a non-profit organization. Theiraim was “to teach life games through tennis” and promote the game for the masses, based on equality and equal opportunities for all. The tennis events that the organization, promotes include, programs for kindergartens, competitive programs and tennis academies where more than 20,000 children take part. The organization operates 14 centers with roughly 172 all weather courts, 5 clay courts and offers additional services such as fitness gyms and classrooms. The center, which has more than 350,000 graduates, has evolved to be the world’s largest tennis school and a number of key Israeli tennis players have developed their talents there.

 

Israel’s significant international achievements in tennis started in 1981, when Shlomo Glickstein played professional tennis. Besides being ranked number 22 in the world, Glickstein gained prominence when he beat the world’s top tennis player, Ivan Lendl, at the Monte Carlo Tournament, and in the ensuing years he reached the double finals at Roland Garros. One of the athletes more identified with Israeli tennis is Amos Manddorf, who played in the professional leagues immediately after Glickstein in the 1980s. In 1987, Mansdorf was ranked 18th, a record ranking for an Israeli tennis player. He achieved this ranking after winning a tournament in Bercy, France and included victories against Boris Becker and Michael Stich – at the time Wimbledon champions.

 

The return to the global tennis rankings occurred with the duo Andy Ram and Yoni Erlich, and with female player Shahar Pe’er. Andy Ram and Yoni Erlich, also known as Andyoni, are the most successful player duo in Israel’s tennis history. The two have won many tournaments including: winning the Grand Slam (Australia Open championship), reaching the quarter final in the Olympics and playing in the semifinal of the Davis Cup. In 2008, the two were ranked first place in the annual doubles ranking of the ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals). Shahar Pe’er is another great player of Israeli pride. She is the most successful female tennis player of all times, who, at her peak was ranked 11th in the world. She reached the finals of many tournaments and has won various prizes. Her personal record includes a quarter final for female singles in the Grand Slam and a doubles final in the Grand Slam. In 2014, she was bestowed a great honor by being chosen to light a torch at the central ceremony of Israel’s Independence Day.