以色列的足球

以色列的足球

Amir Ben Port 曾在一篇论文中如此评论以色列的足球历史:“以色列语很难懂,但所有人都懂足球”,而且这种说法正确无疑,因为足球是以色列最受欢迎的运动之一。以色列的足球历史可以追溯到20世纪之初建国之前。20世纪30年代以色列国家队成立,但在1934年的世界杯上战绩不佳。在过去的几年里,以色列足球获得了发展,而今天除了顶级球队参加的以色列超级联赛外,以色列还设立了一些低级的非职业联赛。由于足球运动的流行,国家也建立了国际水平的体育馆,其目的是使数量不断增加的球迷们能够有更舒适的观球场所。这些场馆包括了海法的Sammy Ofer体育场、Netanya体育场和不久即将落成的Bloomfield体育场。

以色列足球的成就有限,并且各个球队尚未能够提升到欧洲水平。这种情况的产生可能有着多种原因,但也有可能与地方队和国家队的对手水平过高有关,因为尽管以色列地处中东地区,但以色列更倾向于参加欧洲比赛而不是亚洲比赛。以色列足球队参加了欧洲冠军杯比赛、欧洲锦标赛以及世界杯预选赛。与知名的欧洲球队及世界顶级国家队的对抗使以色列很难实现突破并在这些联赛中赢得奖牌。然而,以色列在这种激烈的竞争环境中并不是毫无收获——以色列的球员成为国际顶级球探的猎物,其中一些球员更得以在欧洲大展拳脚。

以色列国家队成立于20世纪30年代并曾在国际舞台上有所斩获。除了赢得过1964年的亚洲杯并入围1970年墨西哥世界杯外,这支国家队在最近的世锦赛与世界杯上颗粒无收。但是高水平的国际赛事对以色列的足球产生了积极的影响——足球的标准提高了,尤其是国家队的水平开始提高。在2008年,以色列在FIFA的全球排名中位列第15位,但这只是昙花一现,今天它徘徊在40位左右的位置。尽管屡次让他们失望,但以色列人仍热爱着他们的国家队,球迷们始终支持并伴随着国家队的每一场比赛。

多年以来,由于地方联赛的成功,有些球队也赢得了殊荣,包括特拉维夫马卡比队、海法马卡比队、特拉维夫夏普尔队以及耶路撒冷比达队。这些俱乐部是以色列最大的俱乐部,因此它们也致力于提高国家足球水平并从国外其他主要联赛中引进球员与教练。以色列也在这些年里输出一批球员并在欧洲球场上叱诧风云。Ronny Rosenthal就是以色列球员的杰出代表,他曾在比利时与英格兰联赛的利物浦与托特纳姆热刺等球队踢球。曾海法马卡比队的球员Eyal Berkovic在英超联赛的南安普敦、西汉姆等球队获得了成功。在2009年他被英国的《时代》报纸评为英超联赛十大中场球员。其他来自以色列的著名球员包括在利物浦、切尔西和阿森纳服役的Yossi Benayoun,在西班牙塞尔塔和土耳其的贝西克塔斯踢球的Haim Revivo。

Soccer in Israel

Soccer in Israel

“Israel is a difficult language, but everyone spoke soccer”, wrote Amir Ben Port in a paper on the history of soccer in Israel, and this seems to ring true, because soccer is one of the most popular sports in Israel. Soccer was played in Israel back in the beginning of the 20th century before the state was founded. Alongside teams in the 1930s the Israel national team, which despite its poor ability participated in the 1934 World Cup. Over the years, Israeli soccer has developed, and today, besides the Super League, which is the top league of soccer teams, there are lower, less professional leagues. The popularity of the sport has led in recent years to the building of international level stadiums whose purpose is to increase the number of spectators and provide soccer fans with proper facilities. These include the Sammy Ofer Stadium in Haifa, the Netanya Stadium and in the near future the Bloomfield Stadium in Tel Aviv, which is currently being renovated and rebuilt.

The success of Israeli soccer is limited, and it seems that teams have not been able to rise to European standards. There are many reasons for this, but may also be related to the playing level of local teams and its national team, because despite its location in the Middle East, Israel plays in European rather than Asian associations. Israeli soccer teams participate in the European Champions Cup games, the Euro tournament and in World Cup fixtures. The matches against famous European teams and first-rate national teams in the world make it difficult for Israel to make a breakthrough and advance within these leagues. However, Israel’s playing in these competitions has some positive aspects – Israeli players are showcased to leading soccer promoters, and some of them get to play in Europe.

 

 

 

The Israeli national team founded in the 1930s, has had few successes in international tournaments. Besides winning the Asia Cup in 1964 and reaching the FIFA World Cup games in Mexico in 1970, the national team has not been able to win any recent European tournaments or the World Cup. However, high level international games have had a positive effect on soccer,– its standards have increased and especially the national team has started to play better. In 2008, Israel was ranked No. 15th in the FIFA global ranking, however this was short lived as today it is in the 40th place. Israelis are attached to their national team and it would seem that despite all the disappointments, the fans are continuing to support and accompany the national team everywhere.

Over the years, there have been teams that have been especially popular primarily due to their local league successes; these include Maccabi Tel Aviv, Maccabi Haifa, Hapoel Tel Aviv and Beitar Jerusalem. These clubs are the largest soccer clubs in Israel and as such are trying to increase the standards of soccer by bringing in players and coaches from other major leagues in the world. Over the years, Israel has also exported a number of soccer players who have become successes in European soccer. Ronny Rosenthal is one of the trail blazers of Israeli soccer players, playing in the Belgian and English leagues for clubs such as Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur. Eyal Berkovic, who played for Maccabi Haifa, gained success in the English league playing for Southampton, Westham and other teams. In 2009, he was chosen by the British newspaper The Times to be the tenth on the list of the greatest midfielders in Premier League’s history. Other famous players hailing from Israel are Yossi Benayoun who played for Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal and Haim Revivo, who played in Spain’s Celta de Vigo and in Turkey’s Besiktas.