巴西篮球

以色列的篮球

“我们就在世界地图之上,而且我们将永远在世界地图之上”,这是Tal Brody在1977年说过的话,这句话成为了整个以色列最著名的宣言。这句话是在欧洲冠军杯上特拉维夫马卡比队战胜莫斯科中央陆军队后Brody发表的感言,在这场比赛中以色列首次获得了胜利。尽管以色列足球仍在国际舞台上徘徊挣扎,以色列的篮球早已铸就辉煌,这要归功于特拉维夫马卡比队,这支球队在很大程度上已经成为了以色列国家队的代表。据记载以色列的正式篮球运动于1954年才开始出现,并在多年来逐步发展壮大。与当初相比,现代以色列篮球无疑已成为一个巨人:拥有约200种针对不同年龄段的儿童、成人与女性的联赛、拥有2000多家注册球队、拥有30000名以上的现役球员。

以色列联赛创始之初的八支球队目前仅余四家:Maccabi Tel Aviv、Hapoel Tel Aviv、Hapoel Holon和Maccabi Haifa,这些球队都曾夺得过国内国际赛事的奖牌。特拉维夫马卡比队在过去的几十年里始终笑傲蓝坛。自1932年球队组建以来,它已赢得了1次洲际杯、51次全国锦标赛冠军,42次国家杯和6次欧洲杯,这使它成为欧洲大陆上最成功的球队之一。Hapoel Jerusalem在近年来成为特拉维夫马卡比队的有力竞争者,它曾在2004年击败皇家马德里队捧起欧洲杯。女子球队也很成功,Elitzur Ramla曾在2012年赢得女子欧洲杯。

尽管在联赛中这些球队获得了成功,但以色列国家队的成绩却并不尽如人意,尽管国家队早在1948年即已成立,而且已经参加过25次欧锦赛。到今天为止,国家队仅赢得过亚洲锦标赛的两枚金牌和一枚银牌,并在欧洲篮球锦标赛上赢得过一枚银牌。截止到2015年7月,在国际篮联的国际排名中以色列国家队位居第38位。与以色列足球国家队类似,篮球国家队倾向于参加欧洲赛事而不是符合以色列国家的地理归属的亚洲赛事。

在2014/15赛季,以色列登上了世界篮球的版图,但这并非是由于某支球队或国家队,而是由于一个人,他就NBA联盟中克里夫兰骑士队的教练David Blatt。Blatt是首位在美国NBA任教的以色列教练,而且在今年该球队获得了NBA亚军。在他来到美国之前,曾在特拉维夫马卡比队拥有成功的执教经历,赢得过锦标赛、欧洲联盟杯和其他奖杯。在2006年,他接过俄罗斯国家队的教鞭,并且在2007年举办的欧洲篮球锦标赛上获得了历史性的胜利,更在2012年获得了伦敦奥运会的铜牌。在2014年,Blatt获得当年的欧洲联赛年度最佳教练提名并当选。

Basketball in Israel

Basketball in Israel

“We are on the map and we will stay on the map”, said Tal Brody in 1977, turning the sentence into one of the most famous expressions in Israel. Brody said this after Maccabi Tel Aviv basketball team’s victory over CSKA Moscow at the European Champions’ Cup, which Israel won for the first time that year. While Israeli soccer continues to search for its success on the international stage, Israeli basketball is a completely different story, owing primarily to Maccabi Tel Aviv, which became, in many aspects, the national team. Basketball started to be played in Israel officially only in 1954 and over the years has developed more competitively. Israeli basketball’s origins were much more modest than where it is today: there are about 200 different leagues for children, adults and women of all ages, with more than 2000 registered teams with more than 30,000 active players.

Out of the eight groups that founded the league, just four remain: Maccabi Tel Aviv, Hapoel Tel Aviv, Hapoel Holon and Maccabi Haifa, and some have gained domestic and international success over the years. Maccabi Tel Aviv has been the leading basketball team in the last several decades. Since the team was founded in 1932, it has won the Intercontinental Cup, 51 national championships, 42 national cups and 6 European cups, which have transformed it into one of the most successful teams on the continent. Hapoel Jerusalem, which in recent years has been challenging Maccabi Tel Aviv, won the Euro Cup in 2004 after beating Real Madrid. The women’s teams have also been a success, Elitzur Ramla winning the Euro Cup for women in 2012.

While the teams themselves gain success in the league, the success of Israel’s national basketball team is more modest, although since 1948, the year in which the state was founded, it has participated in 28 European championships. Until today, the national team has won two gold and one silver medal in the Asian championship games and one silver medal in the European basketball championship. As of July 2015, the Israeli national team is ranked in 38th place in the world by the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). Like Israel’s national soccer team, the national basketball team also plays in European rather than Asian games, to which Israel is supposed to belong.

As of the 2014/2015 basketball season, Israel is on the global basketball map, not because of its basketball teams or national team, but because of one man, the Cleveland Cavaliers coach from the NBA league – David Blatt. Blatt is the first Israeli coach to train a U.S. NBA team, which ended this year as the NBA runner-up. Before he arrived in the USA, he had many successes as the coach of Maccabi Tel Aviv where he won championships, the Euro League Cup and other cups. In 2006, he started to train the Russian national team, which he led to a historic win in the European basketball championship held in 2007, and a bronze medal in the London Olympics in 2012. In 2014, Blatt was nominated and won the Euro League’s coach of the year title