红海中生存着品类繁多的海洋生物。除了众多鱼类,我们也可以找到大约200种珊瑚、40种海星、25种海胆150种蟹类。以色列沿海礁石奇峻,吸引了众多海洋摄影爱好者蜂拥而至。这些礁石既可远观,亦可游近观赏,这使得海岸线一带的浮潜活动异常火爆。很多来自地中海与红海的海龟会爬到以色列海滩上产卵。某些鱼类是红海所特有的,例如海龙、斑点蝴蝶鱼和蓝花龙

以色列在海洋研究方面投入巨大,这些研究由数家大型机构作为主导。其中就包括海法(Haifa)的国立海洋研究院(NIO),该机构的主要研究领域包括生物学、生物技术与海洋化学、海洋地理学、海洋生物地理学与海岸地理学。这些研究持续推动着高新海洋技术的发展。作为全国研究机构的一部分,国立海洋研究院于1967年创立,当时名为“以色列海洋地理与湖沼学研究院”(IOLR)并且下辖加里利海湖沼学实验室(KLL)和国家海洋生物养殖中心(NCM)。

另外一个类似的组织则是“以色列地中海研究中心”(MERCI),这家机构是由七所大学及另外几家海洋研究中心共同倡议建立的。机构的主要目的是开拓全新研究领域,解决环境问题。

第三家机构是以色列海洋哺乳动物研究和保护中心(IMMRAC)。该机构针对地中海与阿卡巴湾中生活的海洋哺乳动物开展研究、保护与援救工作。在提高以色列民众的海洋环境保护意识方面中心也做出了巨大努力。机构的主要目的之一是保护该海域不同的海豚群。中心设有7天24小时海洋救援队,全年随时待命,救援受困的海豚。多年来,该机构已经划定了以色列沿海的几处海洋保护区,这有助于保护濒危物种及它们的生存环境,同时也有助限制每年的捕捞时间

The Red Sea is home to a wide variety of marine life. In addition to its many fish species, we can also find approximately 200 types of corrals, 40 species of sea starfish, 25 species of sea urchin, and 150 species of crabs. The reefs around Israel are a spectacle to behold that attracts many sea photographers. The reefs are easily viewed by taking a short swim from the beach, which increases the development of snorkeling activities all around the shoreline. Many sea turtles arrive to the Israeli shores to lay their eggs both in the Red and Mediterranean Seas. Some species of fish are very specific to the Red Sea and are found nowhere else, such as the Pipe Fish, the Marked Butterfly fish and the Springers Dottybac.

Israel invests a lot of funds into marine research, which is led by several main organizations. One of these is the National Institute of Oceanography (NIO) which is located in Haifa and mainly deals in Biology, Biotechnology, Marine Chemistry, oceanography, and marine and coastal geography. This research consistently contributes to the development of new marine technology and is focused on the preservation of marine life. The NIO is part of a national research institution created in 1967 called “Israel Oceanographic and Limnological Research” (IOLR) that also includes the Kinneret Limnological Laboratory (KLL) and the National Center for Mariculture (NCM).

Another marine research organization is the Mediterranean Sea Research Centre of Israel (MERCI) which is the result of the combined efforts of seven universities and a few additional marine research centres. Its main goal is to identify new unexplored research areas as well as addressing environmental challenges.

 

The third important organization is the Israel Marine Mammal Research & Assistance Center (IMMRAC). This organization focuses in the study, conservation and rescue of marine mammals that inhabit both the Mediterranean Sea and the Gulf of Aqaba. The center also teaches public awareness towards protecting the Israeli marine environment. One of the organization’s key goals is the preservation of various dolphin species in the area. The center has a marine rescue team available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, all year long. And is always ready to assist a dolphin in trouble. Throughout the years the organization has managed to declare a few protected areas along the Israel coastline, in order to protect endangered species and preserve their vital environment support, as well as restrict hunting and fishing to specific times of the year.