以色列的鸟类可分为五大类。第一类是长年栖息在以色列的鸟类。典型的例子包括麦鸡、乌鸫、麻雀、蜂鸟、白胸翡翠、秃鹰、蝗莺和莺。第二类鸟春夏栖息在以色列,随后在非洲过冬。约有30种这样的鸟类,如雨燕、短趾雕、欧斑鸠 、白兀鷲和胡兀鹫等。

第三类鸟类来自气候寒冷的欧洲地区,在以色列过冬。这样的鸟类数目众多,约有90种,包括鹡鸰、红嘴鸥、椋鸟和欧亚鸲。

还有一类鸟并不在以色列长时间栖息,以色列仅仅是其迁徙途中的一站。不少鸟都属于这一类,约有120种,这些鸟在向北迁徙(春天时)和向南迁徙(秋天时)途中常会造访以色列。这类鸟包括鹈鹕、黑顶林莺、白鹳和草原雕。最后一类鸟通常情况下在迁徙途中并不经过以色列,但因气候变化或气流变化而来到这里。有130种鸟属于这一类,如天鹅、黑鹰、隐鹮以及秃鹫。

许多穿越以色列上空的鸟类都避开人口较集中的地区。然而,有时它们因迁徙途径改变,而出现在农田、城市、堆填场以及邻近鱼塘的地方,这种情况对鸟类构成危险,也常使当地农业蒙受巨大损失。为解决这问题,以色列着手在适宜的地点,人工营造舒适的筑巢环境,如胡拉山谷和约旦峡谷的部分地区。在迁徙季节游览这些地点和保护区,是一次绝妙的体验。

在城市中也可观赏鸟类。一些鸟类已学会与人类和谐共处,不时会有鸟在居民区的窗台上筑巢。这样的鸟有鸽子、燕鸥、夜莺、麻雀、鹧鸪、黑尾地鸦、猎鹰和猫头鹰。另有一种会飞行的动物,虽然不是鸟类,但在城市非常常见,几乎在以色列所有地区都可见到,这就是蝙蝠。蝙蝠日落时出没,在约旦峡谷数量尤其众多。

在以色列有许多活跃的鸟类观察者与当地人合作保护鸟类,以留住鸟类所带来的美丽与壮观景象。以色列是亚非欧三大洲的交会之地,而鸟类正是上苍赋予这片神奇土地的一份厚礼。以色列政府也加入到保护以色列鸟类的行列之中,制定了各类法律法规,旨在禁止伤害和捕猎大多数鸟类。

The bird population can be divided into five main categories. In the first, we shall find birds who spend most of the year in Israel. Good examples for this group are lapwings, the common blackbirds, sparrows, hummingbirds, white-throat kingfishers, vultures, hoppers and the warblers. The second group is that of birds who spend the spring and summer months in the country and then spend the winter in Africa. There are about 30 species in this group, notably swifts, circaetus, European Turtle doves, Egyptian vulture, and the bearded vulture etc.

 

The next group we have, are those birds hailing from colder climates (Europe) that spend their winters in Israel. This large group of birds is comprised from approximately 90 species, including wagtails, the black-headed gull, the sturnus and the European robin.

There is a group of birds that does not nestle in the country and for which Israel is simply a stop on their migratory route. This is a large group, comprising of approximately 120 species, who frequent the country both on their way northwards (in the spring) and southwards (in the autumn). Amongst these are the Eurasian pelican, the blackcap, the white stork and the steppe eagle. The last category is of those species that due to climate changes or changes in the air currents find their way to Israel although it is not normally on their migratory path. In this group you can find 130 species including the swan, black eagle, the northern bald ibis and the cinereous vulture.

 

Many of the species that traverse the skies refrain from passing through the country’s more populated areas. However, sometimes their paths change and you can find them within the boundaries of agricultural fields, cities, landfills and near fish ponds, a fact that constitutes a danger to the birds and often draws a heavy toll from the local agriculture. Israel is attempting to overcome this problem by deliberately preparing hospitable nesting conditions in preferred locations such as the Hula Valley and parts of the Jordan Valley. And it is a wonderful experience to visit these locales and reserves during the migratory season.

Birds can be sighted even in the urban landscape. Some species have learned to live and enjoy the presence of people around them, and at times representatives of these species nest on window sills in residential areas. Among these species, can be found the common dove, the turn, the weenie, sparrow, partridge, black-tailed raven, falcons and the owl. Another flying animal, though not a bird in itself, which is very common in cities and can be found in almost all regions of the country is the bat. These make their appearances at sunset and can be found in large numbers especially in the Jordan Valley.

 

There are many active bird watchers in Israel and the local population cooperates in protecting the birds in order to preserve the beauty and majesty that these bring with them. Such gifts transform the land of Israel, where the continents meet into a very special meeting place. The government also cooperates in protecting the birds of Israel through the enactment of laws and regulations that prohibit harming or hunting most types of birds, and help protect the species.