人们把来自中东国家的音乐统称为地中海音乐。但是这种统称并不太恰当,因为这种音乐就像孕育它的犹太世界那样多姿多彩:土耳其音乐与希腊音乐水乳交融,而埃及音乐则与摩洛哥音乐各有千秋,伊拉克和也门的音乐风格之间却大相径庭。但正是在这个复杂多变的体系之内以色列音乐形成了自己的特点——阿拉伯国家音乐与20世纪早期的“圣地”音乐完美融合。多年来这种音乐类型一方面受到了大众的喜爱,另一方面却又承受着舆论的广泛抨击。但自20世纪90年代开始,地中海音乐的地位开始水涨船高,逐渐在广播和电视之中占据了重要位置。

 

正如Max Brod在其书中描述的,地中海音乐的特点可以归纳为“典型的南方音乐,融入了地中海明媚的气候,追求的是一种明快的风格”。气候与地貌影响了地中海曲风的节奏、旋律与编曲。在很多曲调中都采用了重复颤音的技巧,强调软颚辅音的使用,利用种类繁多的乐器创造出魅力十足的曲调,快乐流畅的民谣与悲伤的小调都极富表现力。地中海音乐可以是朝气蓬勃的,使人们心情愉悦。也可以像民谣一样讲述生命中的挫折磨难。很多以色列人将这种音乐称为“忧郁之曲”。

 

多年以来,众多音乐家们在地中海音乐领域孜孜以求。20世纪80年代的歌手们为今天的天王天后们铺平了道路。影响了一代人的著名歌手包括Joe Amar、Zohar Argov、Chaim Moshe、Tzlilei Ha’ud Band、Shoshana Damari、 Ahuva Ozeri、Diklon、Avner Gadasi等人。而Ofra Haza与Achinoam Nini则突破了以色列的国界走向世界,其中前者以艺名Noa. Haza闻名于世,她的双亲来自于也门,在1984年发行了首张主打“也门”音乐的专辑。这张专辑中的两首歌曲Galbi和Im Nin’alu轰动全球并使她举世闻名,直到今天这两首歌仍然是广播的热门曲目,在1990年她拒绝了流行天王Michael Jackson的巡回演唱会邀请。Achinoam Nini来自于一个也门家庭,她主攻的音乐类型是流行音乐。她在国际上的知名度使她得以与Mercedes Sosa、Sting, Cheryl Crow、Stevie Wonder等世界顶级的歌唱家合作。Nini职业生涯的巅峰是在1994年和2000年为教皇约翰·保罗二世表演。

 

近年来,年轻一代艺术家们越来越积极地寻找以色列的民族音乐之魂。这些人的父母曾经历过很多地中海国家的压迫,因此这一代人对他们的历史、语言与艺术更具认同感。今天的年轻音乐家们将注意力放在当地乐器那独特的音色之上:包括oud、tar、bouzouki和kamancha。民族音乐一直是以色列主流音乐类型的替代品,直到在近几十年来如Mark Eliyuahu、Yemen Blues、Alaev family甚至Dudu Tasa这些音乐家积极地参与地中海音乐类型的研究和推广之中。很多网上博客也开始热烈地讨论并向全世界的读者们推荐来自中东国家的音乐。地中海音乐之夜成为了一种潮流,而且对于很多餐厅来说将中东的音乐与当地的美食相结合已经变成一种风尚。

Mediterranean music is a generic description for music that comes from Middle Eastern countries. But this description does injustice to the music, because it is just as complex and diverse as the Jewish world that has brought it: Turkish music fuses with Greek, Egyptian differs from Moroccan, Iraqi and Yemenite styles have no resemblance to one another. But within all this, a style that is characteristic of Israel has formed – combinations of musical genres from Arab countries with influences of Holy Land music from the early twentieth century. This music has suffered over the years from constant discrimination of public opinion despite their popular success. However since the late 1990s, there has been a change in the status of Mediterranean music, becoming now the dominant musical genre on radio and television.

 

Mediterranean music has been characterized as “southern music, infused with the bright light of the Mediterranean air, aspiring to brightness”, as Max Brod wrote in his book. The climate and landscape have had an influence on the musical style of Mediterranean music in tempo, harmony, consistency, melody and orchestration. This music features repeating trills in many songs, emphasizing guttural consonants employing many musical instruments in creating incredible tunes, ranging from happy rhythmical music to sad ballads. Mediterranean music can be snappy happy, music that will brighten your day too. Ballads that talk about pain and suffering in life. Many in Israel call these songs “depression songs”.

 

Over the years, many musicians have worked in the field of Mediterranean music. Singers of the 1980s were the ones who paved the way to today’s modern stars. Famous singers of the generation were Joe Amar, Zohar Argov, Chaim Moshe, Tzlilei Ha’ud Band, Shoshana Damari, Ahuva Ozeri, Diklon, Avner Gadasi and many others. Two of the female singers who broke through Israel’s consciousness and became well known international musicians were Ofra Haza and Achinoam Nini, known by her stage name Noa. Haza, whose parents hailed from Yemen, released an album in 1984 that was fully devoted to Yemenite music. Two of the album’s songs became international hits that are still played on the radio today: Galbi and Im Nin’alu. These hits led to her breakthrough as an international singer, who in 1990 declined an offer to join a world tour with the king of pop, Michael Jackson. Achinoam Nini comes from a family of Yemenite extract whose genre is world music. Her international breakthrough led to compilations with leading artists such as Mercedes Sosa, Sting, Cheryl Crow, Stevie Wonder and others. One of the highlights of Nini’s career was to perform in 1994 and 2000 in which she perform before Pope John Paul the Second.

 

In recent years, the younger generation has been actively reconnecting with their roots. Members of this generation, whose parents suffered oppression from many Mediterranean countries, have more closely embraced their history, language and art. Young musicians today are learning the characteristic regional musical instruments: the oud, tar, bouzouki and kamancha. Ethnic music schools have opened as an alternative to the genre that dominated Israel’s music scene until recent decades and many such as Mark Eliyuahu, Yemen Blues, the Alaev family and even Dudu Tasa, have actively contributed to the development and acceptance of Mediterranean music in Israel.. Many blogs have emerged, holding lively discussions on music and teaching readers about music from the Levant countries. Mediterranean music evenings are held throughout the week, and it has now become “cooler” for many restaurants to combine music from the Middle East alongside their local dishes.