以色列民间舞蹈

众所周知,以色列的民俗舞蹈或民间舞蹈更多地是一种文化的象征。它们塑造并代表着以色列文化,展现着个性、情感、宗教和国籍。早在十九世纪初,以色列的民间舞蹈就已出现。受意识形态驱使的年轻犹太人,居无定所,从欧洲迁徙到了以色列,他们期望着基于平等、土地开垦等价值观建立起新的犹太人部落,甚至是新的犹太以色列国。以色列先驱们抛弃了所有可见的犹太教标志,为世俗犹太复国主义犹太教采用了新标志,但他们却并没有抛弃原有的舞蹈。以色列建国之前,“霍拉”舞也许是最著名的以色列民间舞,它从以色列文化中孕育而出,对新移民来而言是一种珍贵的文化符号。

“霍拉”舞代表了很多年轻移民们安身立命的价值观;围成圆圈的舞蹈形式象征着朋友之间的平等;携手并进代表着一起工作;赤脚跳舞体现了与大地的亲密接触。但是“霍拉”舞最重要的一点是舞步简单,任何人都可以加入,象征着建设国家的艰巨任务。“霍拉”舞只是在以色列建国期间出现的众多民间舞蹈形式的一个,在以色列建国之后逐步发展成为一种由集体伴唱的社会规范舞蹈。 2005年,1300位美国当地犹太社区中的犹太人在美上演了史上最大型的“霍拉”舞演出。

以色列各地的民间舞蹈表演每周都会上演。除由固定舞者演出的民间舞蹈,也有“harkadot”或团体舞蹈。 “Harkadot”指由众多舞者共同参与的舞蹈集会,该集会可能面向一个特定的群体,或向公众开放。有些“harkadot”需要交纳报名费,但也有几个公共“harkadot”是不需要缴纳费用的。通常每周五晚在特拉维夫的戈登海滩或者每周六早上的Sportek可以看到公开的“harkadot”舞蹈表演。其他一些城市的“harkadot”会在周六上演,其中包括里雄莱锡安 、海法、阿卡、内坦亚和拉马特甘。所有的“harkadot”表演通告都会公布在特定的网站,其中包括寻找舞伴的公告栏、各级舞蹈课程,甚至还有一个24小时的舞者电台播放“harkadot”风格里最动听的歌曲。该领域内最有名的人士是Gavri Levi,他是一名舞蹈家和编舞者,同时也是以色列足协的主席。

一年一度的民间舞蹈盛事是由20世纪80年代延续至今的迦密舞蹈节。舞蹈节为期三天,呈现了来自世界各地的舞蹈表演和舞蹈家作品,吸引了成千上万的舞者和接近25万的业余舞者和游客参与其中。舞蹈节除了展示舞蹈表演,还会举办舞蹈比赛并提供专业舞蹈进修课程,以及面向公众开放的海量的“harkadot”舞蹈集会。每年舞蹈节的主夜晚,都会由世界上最好的表演团体进行一场特殊的表演,这些表演团体中包括“Mazowsce”——波兰国家剧团、乌克兰芭蕾舞团、来自莫斯科大剧院芭蕾舞团的独奏家、西班牙芭蕾舞团等。 2000年,中国国家芭蕾舞团在电影节上进行了一场重头戏的演出。

Folk Dance

Israeli folkloric dances, or folk dances, as they are known, symbolize much in a culture. They shape and represent culture, personality, emotions, religion and nationality. Folk dancing has existed in Israel since the early nineteenth century, when young, ideologically-driven Jews without a family life moved from Europe to Israel. Their intention was to develop a new Jewish settlement based on values including equality, working the land and in particular, a new Jewish Israeli, The pioneers abandoned all visible signs of religious Judaism and in adopting new symbols for the secular Zionist Judaism, they did not forget about dance. Even before the State was born, the “hora”, perhaps the most famous of Israeli folk dances, as a symbol of all that is Israeli was especially precious to the new immigrants.

The “hora” symbolized the values, according to which the young people who had arrived in Israel lived; these circular dances symbolized equality among friends, hand in hand representing working together, the dance is danced barefoot and embodies the connection to the earth. It is also above all, a dance of simple steps which anyone can join, symbolizing the enormous task of building the country. The “hora” was only one of many folk dances which developed during the founding of the State of Israel and became a social norm, along with group singing, particularly after the State was born. In 2005 in the United States, the biggest “hora” in history was danced, with 1,300 participants from local Jewish community.

Folk dancing takes place weekly all over Israel.

Apart from folk dancing for regular participants, there are also “harkadot” or group dances. “Harkadot” is the name given to dance meetings meant for large numbers of participants. They could be for a specific group, or open to the public. Some of the “harkadot” require a entry fee however there are several public ones with no charge. The open “harkadot” can be seen in Tel Aviv every Friday evening at Gordon Beach or Saturday morning at the Sportek. Other cities offer them on Saturdays including Rishon LeTzion, Haifa, Acre, Netanya and Ramat Gan. All of the “harkadot” are advertised on a special site including a board for finding partners, courses for all levels and there is even a dancers’ 24 hour radio station, which plays the best songs of the genre. One of the most famous people in the field is Gavri Levi, a dancer and choreographer, who was also the chairman of the Israeli Football Association.

The main annual folk dancing event, which began in the 1980s and continues today, is the Carmiel Dance Festival. The festival lasts three days and presents dances and dancers from Israel and all over the world. Thousands of dancers and close to a quarter of a million amateur dancers and visitors attend. During the festival there are, along with performances, competitions and professional enrichment courses, as well as mass “harkadot” which are open to the general public. Each year, on the main night, the festival hosts a special performance by the best groups in the world; “Mazowsce”- Poland’s national troupe, the Ukrainian ballet, soloists from the Bolshoi Ballet in Moscow, and the Ballet Espanol of Spain are only some examples. In 2000 the National Ballet of China were hosted at the main event of the festival.