东方舞

根据公元前留存的证据所知,东方舞——或者更确切一点是19世纪西方游客口中的“肚皮舞”——有着悠久的发展历史。肚皮舞是一种由一位舞者转圈舞动全身的舞蹈,舞蹈中满怀情感,是感官的、振奋人心的和性感的。舞者身着简约服饰、纱巾、眼罩,佩戴许多珠宝,有时也会佩戴刀剑棍棒等元素。不管如何定义,肚皮舞实际上是一种民间舞蹈,反映出地中海地区、阿拉伯国家和北非地区的文化特色。肚皮舞的发展也受到了来自其他国家舞蹈的影响,其中包括吉普赛肚皮舞、西班牙弗拉门戈、印度舞等。此外,肚皮舞的舞蹈风格也多种多样,其中有属民间舞蹈的巴拉迪风格,沙奇风格,佩戴装饰的经典风格,土耳其风格和增加了非洲部落舞蹈动作的融合风格。

如今,肚皮舞受到了不同观众群体的追捧。早在肚皮舞发展早期的拜占庭时期,妇女们会在社交活动或会议期间为女性观众表演肚皮舞。西方对东方的征服改变了肚皮舞的舞蹈风格,使它成为一种更加艺术的表演方式,尤其是在土耳其、黎巴嫩和埃及。其中最有名的肚皮舞舞蹈家是埃及舞者Tahiya Karioka,她的炫技舞蹈和肢体动作无人能及,成为了众多舞者心中的榜样,激励着她们的肚皮舞学习。Karioka做到了其他肚皮舞者未能做到的事情——  她成为了著名的电视和电影演员,与Farid al Atrash、Muhammad Abdul Wahab等当代演员合作演出了众多在西方国家上映的电影作品。

2015年,西方女孩中掀起了一场肚皮舞热潮,而以色列也开设了很多肚皮舞培训班和肚皮舞学习班。肚皮舞已经成为一种自我表达和自我接纳的流行方式,因为所有体型的女性都适合跳肚皮舞。以色列教授肚皮舞的知名机构之一会培训教师教授经典肚皮舞和民族肚皮舞。此外,以色列基于对专业舞蹈教师的需求推出了为期两年的肚皮舞治疗方案,因为人们发现东方舞蹈对于塑造身体形象,治疗饮食失调、生育障碍、产前准备和其他广泛的疾病有着显著疗效。

 

以色列一年之中有多个肚皮舞节,例如沙漠玫瑰、Raks Tel Aviv、 Habib Ya-Eini等。其中最有名的是在埃拉特举办的国际肚皮舞节,每年都会吸引来自世界各地的男女舞者。国际肚皮舞节期间大约有900个观众会观看表演和比赛。肚皮舞节期间会开办各种舞蹈讲习班,包括Saidi、Sha’abi和巴拉迪埃及舞蹈风格,在埃及电影中出现过的受音乐剧和古典芭蕾影响的Raks Sharqi舞蹈,以及土耳其、摩洛哥、宝莱坞以及来自海湾国家的Khalidi 舞蹈。除了歌舞表演及舞蹈讲习班外,肚皮舞节期间还会开办一些教授使用棍棒和围巾等配件,以及身体协调和分解动作的讲习班。

Oriental Dancing

Oriental dancing, better known as “belly dancing”, as it was called by western visitors in the 19th century, is deeply rooted in history – according to testimonies it existed back before the common era. Belly dancing is emotional dancing and is considered to be sensual, arousing and sexy, usually involving a single dancer moving her whole body in circular movements. The dancer wears minimalistic clothing accompanied by scarves, eye covers, many jewels and sometimes elements of swords or sticks. This type of dancing, despite all the definitions, is actually a folklore dance reflectingthe Mediterranean region, Arab countries and North African culture. The effect of the development of belly dancing has been two-way, ranging from belly dances for gypsy dancing, Spanish flamenco and even Indian dances. There are different belly dance styles too, such as the Baladi style, which is a folk dance, the Sharqi style, the classic style that involves the use of accessories, the Turkish style and the fusion style that has added African tribal movements to the dances.

While today, belly dances are common in mixed audiences, the beginning of the dance, back in the byzantine period, involved women who danced for female audiences at social events or meetings. The conquest of the east by the west led to a change in belly dance styles, turning belly dancing into a more artistic performance particularly in Turkey, Lebanon and Egypt. One of the most famous dancers was Egyptian dancer Tahiya Karioka, who became a role model and an inspiration for many dancers and was regarded as having no equals in her virtuoso dancing and body gestures. Karioka was successful where other belly dancers were not – she became a famous television and film actress appearing in many films beside contemporary actors such as Farid al Atrash and Muhammad Abdul Wahab, and her films appeared in most western countries.

The belly dancing trend has not skipped western girls in 2015, and in today’s Israel, many belly dancing classes and courses are offered. Belly dancing has become very popular as a means of self-expression and self-acceptance, as it is suitable for any woman of any build. One of the key places in Israel that teaches belly dances deals with training of teachers for teaching classic styles and folk dancing. It has also launched globally unique programs for belly dancing therapy, a professional program that lasts two years. The program was launched after a demand for professional dance teachers arose and oriental dance therapy was found to be effective for problems with body image, eating disorders, fertility disorders, preparation for childbirth and a wide range of other disorders.

 

In Israel there are a number of belly dancing festivals during the year: Desert Rose, Raks Tel Aviv and Habib Ya-Eini to name a few. The best known and most famous is the international belly dancing festival held in Eilat, which attracts dancers of both genders from around the world. The festival has about 900 people who enjoy the performances, and competitions. Workshops are available for Saidi, Sha’abi and Baladi Egyptian dance styles; the Raks Sharqi, identified with the Egyptian cinema and influenced by musicals and classic ballet; Turkish, Moroccan, Bollywood and Khalidi dancing that comes from the Gulf States. Besides dance performances and workshops, there are also workshops for using accessories such as sticks and scarves, coordination and movement separation.