从教众数量来看,伊斯兰教是以色列的第二大宗教,有将近142万教众。约75%的以色列穆斯林是由贝都因人、切尔克斯人及阿拉伯人组成的逊尼派穆斯林。如今,以色列的大多数穆斯林居住在加利利、内盖夫以及位于沙龙平原和撒马利亚山之间三角地区。耶路撒冷约有295,000个穆斯林,居于全国首位。居于第二的是位于以色列南部的拉哈特,约有59,000个穆斯林,约占全城居民的 99.8%。其他穆斯林集中区还有拿撒勒——有52,000教众;Um al Fahm——有51,000教众。

 

“以色列之所以存在穆斯林,除了历史遗留外还与伊斯兰教的神圣性紧密相关。以色列拥有伊斯兰教最神圣的地方——建在耶路撒冷圣殿山的阿克萨清真寺。逊尼派穆斯林认为阿克萨清真寺是是穆罕默德升天的地方,是继沙特阿拉伯的麦加和麦地那之后伊斯兰教的第三大圣地。英国对以色列的托管结束后将象征性的伊斯兰教统治权移交给了约旦的哈希姆王室,使其成为了圣地的官方守护者。约旦战败后又将圣地的管理权转交给了以色列,但由于该地的宗教敏感性,以色列将圣地的实际控制权交给了穆斯林Wakf。Wakf受以色列政府委托管理和维护阿克萨清真寺,同时出于安全的考虑禁止犹太人在该地祷告。”

 

“以色列独立宣言中肯定了公民的信仰自由。尽管仍然存在各种各样的限制,以色列各宗教仍然可以根据自己的信仰自由地管理各自的教众和宗教活动。对于伊斯兰教也是如此。在以色列,穆斯林教众的孩子们在学校用他们的母语——阿拉伯语学习课程,除了主流学科,他们也进行伊斯兰教的学习。除了伊斯兰教价值观指导下的教育体系,在以色列还有基于伊斯兰教法律的沙赖法院,用以处理个人事务和穆斯林公民的捐赠,包括结婚和离婚案件。这些法院最早可追溯到奥斯曼帝国统治时期,之后被纳入了以色列法律体系。”

 

穆斯林在以色列拥有公民权,是以色列公众民主制度和公共生活的一部分。他们拥有选举和被选举为以色列议会成员的权利(在最近的2015年选举中,他们投票给了第三大政党。)在社会生活中,他们扮演着医生、法官、讲师、文化名人等角色。尽管以色列国防军不征招穆斯林服兵役,也有一些穆斯林选择志愿服兵役。穆斯林分布在以色列全国各地的混居城市中,如耶路撒冷、海法,阿卡、拉姆拉、罗德、三角地区、加利利的村庄以及沿海平原。以促进宽容与和平共处为宗旨的“节中节”于12月份在海法举行,届时伊斯兰教、基督教和犹太教三大宗教将一起庆祝这一神圣的节日。

The second largest religion by population in Israel, with approximately1.42 million residents, is the Muslim population. Israel’s Muslim population consists of Bedouin, Circassians and an Arab majority, about 75%, who are Sunni Muslims. Today most Muslims in Israel live in Galilee, in the Negev and in the Triangle region, a name given to a region between the Sharon Plain and the Samaria mountains. Jerusalem is the city with the largest number of Muslims, approximately295 thousand.This is followed immediately by Rahat in the south, with about 59 thousand Muslims, constituting about 99.8% of the town’s residents. Other settlements with a large concentration of Muslims are Nazareth – 52 thousand residents, and Um al Fahm, with 51 thousand.

 

 

Besides historical settlements of Muslims in the country, Muslims are connected to Israel because of its holy importance to their religion. Israel has one of the most holy sites of Islam, the al-Aqsa Mosque, built on the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. According to Sunni belief, the site the third most important site in Islam after Mecca and Medina in Saudi Arabia, it is the place where Muhammad rose to heaven. When the British mandate in Israel ended, the symbolic Islamic rule passed to the Hashemite royal family of Jordan, who were the official guardians of the holy places. When the country was prevailed, the physical control of the holy sites passed to Israel, but because of the place’s religious sensitivity, Israel transferred the actual control to the Muslim Wakf.The Muslim Wakf is entrusted with the al-Aqsa Mosque management and maintenance and have banned Jews from praying at the site out of concern for security disruptions.

 

 

Freedom of worship in Israel is guaranteed in the Declaration of Independence, and despite certain restrictions the various religions in Israel are free to manage their lives and those of their followers according to their faiths. The same applies to Islam. The children of Muslims in Israel study at schools in Arabic, their mother tongue, and Islam studies are offered alongside mainstream subjects. Besides the education system with Islamic values, there are also courts based on Islamic law, which are known as Sharai Courts, which can hear cases on personal status affairs and endowments of Muslim citizens, including subjects such as marriage and divorce. These courts date back from the Ottoman rule, which were adopted at a later stage into the Israeli legal system.

 

 

Muslims in Israel have civil rights and are part of the public democratic system and part of life in Israel. They are allowed to vote and be elected for Israel’s Knesset (in the last elections in 2015, they voted for the third largest party. They serve as physicians, judges, lecturers, cultural figures and more. Despite being exempt from conscript military service in the Israel Defense Forces, some Muslims choose to volunteer for military service. Muslims in Israel live throughout the country in mixed cities such as Jerusalem, Haifa, Akko, Ramla and Lod and in the triangle region, in villages in Galilee and on the coastal plain. As part of the effort to promote tolerance and peaceful coexistence, in December, the Festival of All Festivals is held in Haifa, in which the three religious: Islam, Christianity and Judaism, celebrate the festivals holy to them together.