尽管世界上有许多人将犹太教视为一种宗教,但它实际上由不同的分支构成,每个分支都有自己的特点,而且互相之间差别不小。首先从历史定义来看:犹太教最开始是居住在今天的以色列的一个部落族群的宗教,至今已存在3000多年。这些部落占领的土地面积历经几个世纪不断变化,包括如今与以色列接壤的部份国家。但他们居住的主要地区名为朱迪亚,耶路撒冷为当时的首都。犹太教如今被认为是首个神论宗教。

 

后来由于波斯人和罗马人先后占领了他们的家园,犹太人被迫背井离乡,浪迹天涯—中国、印度、荷兰、德国、保加利亚、希腊、沙特阿拉伯、也门,到处都有他们的深影。犹太人在一些国家接受到了公平的待遇和相对的自主权,但其他大多数国家的犹太人却受到了严格的规章制度限制,被剥夺了权利,甚至遭受了迫害和骚扰。尽管在世界不同地区面临着诸多困难,犹太人还是设法创造出了丰富的文化,产生了众多作家、文人、科学家和医学家,其中许多人更曾担任宫廷顾问。

 

德系犹太人及西班牙和葡萄牙犹太人
犹太民族的一个主要分支是德系犹太人和西班牙犹太人。西班牙犹太人被认为是居住在伊比利亚半岛、后在1492年遭到王后伊莎贝拉和国王费迪南驱逐的犹太人的后裔。这些犹太人淘到阿拉伯国家避难,并在此后的几个世纪中将自己的文化融入进了阿拉伯风俗中并一直居住在阿拉伯国家。后来时局动荡,以色列建国,大规模的移民潮开始。德系犹太人指的是原来居住在欧洲,主要包括德国、荷兰和比利时,后来移民到以色列的犹太人。

 

信教与世俗
犹太教的另外一个分支介于信教和世俗犹太人之间。这两个分支存在差别,有很多不同之处。世俗犹太人指绝对的无神论者以及不完全履行诫命、但尊重教义的犹太人。信教犹太人一方面指与宗教关系密切、但整体上过着世俗生活、履行部份宗教诫命的犹太人。另一方面,它指的是极端正统的犹太人—哈勒丁派。他们的全部生活都围绕着履行诫命展开,除了严格解释宗教律令外再无其他工作。

 

正统派、改革派和保守派
由于以正统派理念构建,自建国后,以色列一直根据宗教律令治国(结婚、离婚、葬礼等)。宗教组织根据正统派犹太教的教义颁发许可证。然而也存在其他犹太教派。保守派和改革派犹太人对于宗教及诫命有着各自不同的解释,但却并未得到正统派及政府的认可。尽管这些教派的信徒不多,但却一直在不懈地争取得到认可并融入以色列的宗教生活。

Although many people around the world tend to view Judaism as a single religion, it actually consists of different groups, each with its own characteristics that go beyond a change in nuances. Let us start with the historical definition: Judaism began as the religion of a tribal group that inhabited the area known today as Israel for over 3,000 years. The size of the land occupied by these tribes varied over the centuries and included part of the countries that today border with Israel. However the main region which they inhabited was the area known as Judea (and hence the name of the people “Jews”) that had Jerusalem as its capital. Judaism is considered today to be the first monotheistic religion.

As a result of the concurring of the land by first the Persians and secondly by Romans, the Jews were dispersed amongst nations reaching every corner of the world – from China and India to Holland and Germany, from Bulgaria and Greece to Saudi Arabia and Yemen. In some nations the Jews received a fair treatment and relative autonomy but in most cases they lived their lives under strict rules, the denial of their rights, persecution and harassment. Despite the many difficulties they faced in different communities around the world, Jews managed to create a rich culture filled with writers and intellectuals, men of science and medicine, many of which served as royal court consultants.

Ashkenazim and Sephardim
A major group within the Jewish ethnic group are the Ashkenazi Jews and the Jews of Spain. The Jews of Spain are considered to be descendants of Jews who lived in the Iberian Peninsula and who had been expelled in 1492 by Queen Isabella and King Ferdinand. These Jews found refuge in the Arab countries and have for centuries had integrated their culture into Arab customs, such that Jews remained in the Arab countries until the situation became too difficult and once the state of Israel was formed the mass migration began. The Ashkenazi Jew is a concept that refers to Jews that were residing in Europe, mainly in Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium and who later immigrated to Israel.

Religious and secular
Another group within Judaism is between religious and secular Jews. These two groups are heterogeneous and you can find different levels within them. Amongst the secular Jews you can find absolute atheists along with those who respect religion even if not fully fulfilling its commandments. Amongst the religious Jews you can find on the one hand people that hold an affinity for religion but live an overall secular life partially fulfilling the commandments of the religion. On the other side you will find the Ultra-Orthodox Jews –the Haredim whose entire lives revolves around fulfilling the commandments and nothing is done outside the strictest interpretation of the religious laws.

Orthodox, Reform and Conservative
Ever since its founding, Israel has been governed according to the rulings of their religion as it is conceived by the Orthodox way (marriage, divorce, burial, etc.) and the licenses issued by religious institutions were based on the Orthodox Judaism, However there are other Jewish denominations. The conservative and the reform Jews have a different interpretation of religion and its commandments, not all of which receive recognition from the Orthodox institutions and as a consequence from the government. Although the followers of these denominations are not large they are stubbornly fighting to receive recognition and be incorporated in the religion aspect of life in Israel.