作为一个宗教信仰众多的国度,以色列成为了基督教不同教派的神圣家园。这并不是一个整齐划一的团体,而是被分割成了不同群体与不同教派。在2014年早期,以色列大约拥有160000名基督教徒,占全国总人口的2%,其中有80%都是阿拉伯人,其余的则是与犹太家庭一起移民的基督教徒。以色列的犹太人口形成了种类繁多的教派,他们对犹太教的态度、对国家的看法以及组织结构各不相同。其中最主要的是东正教、天主教和新教教会。除了这些主要的教会,我们也可以看到在叙利亚教会中形成的一性论教派,也可以看到科普特教会、亚述教会、马龙派、埃塞俄比亚人和亚美尼亚人。除了国家教会,大多数基督教徒都是以色列各地会众的成员,说的是阿拉伯语。

 

在以色列全国各大宗教圣地都能够找到几个世纪以来基督教徒的足迹,十字军曾在历史的长河中穿越这片土地,并将基督教的种子撒播在这片土地之上除此之外,很多教会与修道院在以色列开始建造,直到今天它们还在为基督民众们服务着。作为基督教圣地,这里可以找到大多数的基督教机构。并非所有的机构都设有地方集会,并且在大多数情况下组织代表都是暂住人口。以色列国内的僧侣与牧师成为了西方国家的代表,他们会经常参与到国家的社会、文化与学术生活之中。以色列政府并不会干预基督教徒的生活,但是内政部组建了基督教社区事务部并将它当作政府与基督教徒之间的纽带。如果基督教徒需要政府的协助,那么他们可以向政府部门提交申请。

 

有些以色列圣地与耶稣的生死息息相关,这也使它们成为基督教徒的圣地,这些古迹多数位于耶路撒冷,不过在以色列的中北部也能够找到其他相关古迹。其中包括圣墓堂,人们相信耶稣就是在这里被钉上十字架、埋葬并复活的。耶稣最后晚餐的房间位于耶路撒冷的锡安山上,并且伯利恒是耶稣的诞生地。其他的古迹包括Qasr el Yahud,根据基督教的传统,这里正是施洗约翰洗礼耶稣及其追随者的地点,还有位于拿撒勒镇的圣母领报教堂。此外,有些城市与聚集地被看作是基督教地区,包括拿撒勒镇,Eilabun、 Iblin、Shfaram等等。

 

除了日常生活与朝圣旅游,这些组织的宗旨是使犹太教与基督教紧密关联。其中之一是犹太基督教理解与合作中心,该组织的研究对象是与基督教有关的希伯来文化,致力于在两种宗教之间建立起对话与合作。该中心会举办全国范围内的巡讲及研讨会,致力于阐明犹太教与基督教之间的关联,研究节日的圣经神学渊源,从犹太视角对圣经加以研究。另一个组织则是耶路撒冷国际基督使节(ICEJ),该机构是由以色列的基督教信奉者组建的,在全世界已经拥有了60余个代表团。该机构最著名的活动是举办了住棚节,在犹太结茅节期间每年都会在耶路撒冷举办该活动。在此期间,会展示关于以色列人民、以色列国、耶稣归来等等事物之间关联的证据,并举行研讨与会议活动。节日已经举办了超过35年,吸引了世界各地的基督教徒参加。

As a country that is holy to so many different religions, Israel is home to Christians of different persuasions. They are not a homogeneous group, but are split up into different populations and denominations of Christianity. In early 2014, there were approximately160,000 Christians, representing about 2% of Israel’s population, 80% of whom are Arabs and the remainder are Christians whom immigrated with their Jewish families. The Christian population in Israel consists of different churches that differ from each other in their attitude to Judaism, their views of the country and their organizational structure. The main ones are the Orthodox, Catholic and Protestant Churches. Alongside these major churches, one may also find Monophysite Christians who form under the Syrian Church, the Coptic Church, the Assyrian Church, Maronite’s, Ethiopians and Armenians. Except for the national churches, most Christians are members of local congregations in Israel who speak Arabic.

 

For centuries, Israel has been a holy place to Christians, and throughout history, crusades have passed through the country, resulting in many residents converting to Christianity. Alongside these, many churches and monasteries have formed in Israel, which serve the Christian population to this day. As a country that is holy to Christianity, representatives of most Christian organizations can be found across many holy sites around the country. Not all organizations have a local congregation, and in most cases the representatives of organizations are temporary residents. Western countries are represented by monks and priests in Israel who are often involved in social, cultural and academic life in Israel. The State of Israel does not interfere in the lives of Christians in Israel, but a Christian Communities Affairs Division has been founded in the Ministry of Interior, serving as a link between the government and Christian communities. Christian communities can submit applications to this government department that involve issues requiring government assistance.

 

In Israel there are places that are holy to Christianity that are related to the life and death of Jesus Christ, and although most of them are in Jerusalem, other related sites can be found to the north and center of Israel. These sites include the Church of the Holy Sepulcher, where according to belief Jesus was crucified, buried and resurrected. The room of Jesus’ last supper on Mount Zion in Jerusalem and the Nativity Church in Bethlehem. Other sites like Qasr el Yahud, according to Christian tradition is the site at which John the Baptist baptized Jesus and his followers, and the Church of the Annunciation in Nazareth. Additionally, there are cities and settlements that are identified with the Christian population in Israel, which include the towns of Nazareth, Maalot-Tarshiha, Haifa and Jerusalem and the settlements Eilabun, Iblin, Shfaram, to name but a few.

 

Alongside everyday life and pilgrim tourism, organizations have formed with the purpose of connecting Judaism to Christianity. Such an organization is the Center for Jewish Christian Understanding and Cooperation, which deals with the Hebrew connection of Christianity and cooperation and forming a dialog between the two religions. The center conducts tours nationwide and seminars dealing with Jewish-Christian relations, biblical theology of religious festivals and study of the Bible from a Jewish perspective. Another organization is the International Christian Embassy in Jerusalem (ICEJ), an organization that was founded by Christian lovers of Israel, which has more than 60 delegations worldwide. The peak of activity of the organization is holding the Feast of Tabernacles, which is held during the Jewish Sukkoth festival each year in Jerusalem. At the feast, there is a demonstration of support for Israel alongside seminars and conferences on the connection between the People of Israel, the State of Israel, the return of Jesus and much more. This feast attracts Christian pilgrims from around the world and has been held for more than 35 years.