特拉维夫兴建于1909年,虽然相对年轻,却于2003年被联合国教科文组织认定为八大现代遗址之一。特拉维夫是以色列的商业和文化之都,它是世界上国际主义风格建筑最为集中的区域,是现代主义包豪斯风格建筑的集中呈现地。包豪斯是德国著名的建筑学校,以包豪斯建筑学派闻名于世。在特拉维夫,有4000多幢修建于1920至1960年间的包豪斯建筑学派风格的建筑,这些建筑物是特拉维夫宏伟的城市规划之一。继1994年的会议之后,特拉维夫的国际风格建筑在20世纪90年代中期得到首次认可,来自世界各地的数百名建筑师和考古史学家都出席了该盛会。当然,联合国教科文组织的赞誉才真正提升了特拉维夫在世界建筑史上的地位。

 

国际主义风格以简洁和注重功能性而闻名,它的建筑实用性强,没有任何不必要的装饰;包豪斯建筑线条简约大气,采用了不对称的布局,它强调通用结构,适用于世界上的任何地区,因而形成了独特的包豪斯建筑风格。位于地中海沿岸的特拉维夫建筑多为三到五层楼,大多数时间这些建筑都沐浴在灿烂的阳光下,它们用于通风的竖井非常有利于空气流通,还有遮阳墙,可以避免居民受到地中海灼热阳光的暴晒。1984年特拉维夫艺术博物馆举办了题为“白色之城”的展览,展出的主要内容不仅是特拉维夫的国际主义建筑风格,占据主要篇幅的是许多公寓住宅和写字楼外墙使用的白色石膏,因此特拉维夫首次被誉为“白城”。1920至1960的40年间,成千上万的建筑如雨后春笋般出现,设计这些建筑的犹太建筑师们大部分是从欧洲移民到英属巴勒斯坦托管地的,他们曾在世界闻名的德国包豪斯等艺术建筑学校学习,抵达巴勒斯坦之前,他们曾与最杰出的密斯·凡德罗、科比意等现代主义建筑大师合作。在当时,活跃的国家建筑师包括吉尼亚·埃弗巴克、亚利耶·埃尔-纳尼、阿里·沙龙、多夫·卡麦、泽夫·雷什特和约瑟夫·诺伊费德。

 

特拉维夫白城被联合国教科文组织分为三个区域:白城中央、罗斯柴尔德大道和比亚利科故居。白城大部分风格建筑位于西边的沿伊本大街,南到萨尔玛大街,北至雅孔河的一整块区域内。罗斯柴尔德大道是白城的中心交通动脉,沿街的几百幢建筑有着鲜明的包豪斯风格,数年来保存良好并于最近修葺一新。在白城,最具代表性的建筑应该是弗鲁克街的工友合作社、迪岑哥夫广场附近的Esther电影院、 Chen电影院、 Mahle屋和Mirenberg屋、在Hamassger 和Harakevet 街十字路口附近Levanda街的Haonia屋; Polischuk 屋和Mazeh大道56号的Haaretz印刷厂、迪岑哥夫大道69号和戈登大道9号的住宅建筑。特拉维夫白城被认定为世界文化遗产后,不仅加速了当地旅游业、建筑业的发展,加强了历史文物的保护力度,促进了商业的繁华,而且当地的学术研究、艺术展览和白城的出版事业都达到了空前的繁荣。一家小型博物馆设立在比亚利科大街的Reuven家,记录了特拉维夫国际主义建筑风格的历史。博物馆由著名建筑师罗恩·阿拉德负责室内装修设计。2013年,白城展览在俄罗斯圣彼得堡的国家遗产博物馆举行;2014年,芬兰的赫尔辛基建筑博物馆也举办了白城展。

Although it is a young city founded in 1909, Tel Aviv became in 2003 one of the eight modern sites declared by UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites. UNESCO’s international recognition of Tel Aviv’s uniqueness was the follow-up to the discovery that Israel’s commercial and cultural capital contains the highest concentration in the world of structures built in the International Style, a modernistic architectural style and perception better known as Bauhaus, which is also the name of the famous architectural school in German where this style developed. Over 4,000 structures built in the International Style were erected in Tel Aviv between 1920 and 1960; they were part of a massive urban plan that also included green areas within the city’s municipal boundaries. The International Style of architecture in Tel Aviv was first recognized in the mid-1990s following a conference that was held there in 1994 and which was attended by hundreds of architects and archeological historians from around the world. Nonetheless, UNESCO’s recognition is what has brought about a major boost to Tel Aviv’s status in the world.

 

The International Style is characterized by simple, functional construction that focuses on enabling the structure to fulfill its particular role, without any unnecessary ornamentation; a Bauhaus structure has straight lines or simple circles without any attempt at symmetry and with an emphasis on universal construction that can fit into any area in the world – hence, the name of this architectural style. The structures erected in Tel Aviv, which is situated on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea and is blessed with many sunny days, are three- to five-story buildings with ventilation shafts that facilitate the flow of air and with shading walls to protect the residents from the scorching Mediterranean sun. Tel Aviv was first referred to as the White City in 1984 when the Tel Aviv Museum of Art held an exhibition entitled “White City,” which refers not only to Tel Aviv’s International Style of architecture but also and primarily to the white plaster used on the exterior of many of its apartment houses and office buildings. The four decades between 1920 and 1960 saw the erection of thousands of structures planned by Jewish architects who had arrived in Mandatory Palestine from Europe where they had studied at world-famous schools of architecture, including the Bauhaus art school in Germany; before arriving in Palestine, they had worked with the best of the modernist architects, such as, for example, Mies Van Der Rohe and Le Corbusier. Among the architects who were active in the country at the time were Genia Averbuch, Arieh El-Hanani, Arieh Sharon, Dov Carmi, Zeev Rechter and Joseph Neufeld.

 

UNESCO has divided Tel Aviv’s White City area into three separate zones: the central White City, Lev Ha’ir and Rothschild Blvd., and the Bialik Area. Most of the White City is located to the west of Ibn Gvirol Street, between Salma Street in the south and the Yarkon River in the north. Rothschild Boulevard is the central traffic artery in the White City and serves as a striking example of the Bauhaus style with its hundreds of structures that have been preserved and renovated over the past few years. Among the White City’s most celebrated structures are the Cooperative Workers Residences on Frug Street; the Esther Cinema, the Chen Cinema, Mahle House and Mirenberg House in the vicinity of Dizengoff Square; Haonia House on Levanda Street near the intersection of Hamassger and Harakevet streets; Polischuk House and the Haaretz Printing House at 56 Mazeh Street; and residential properties at 69 Dizengoff St. and 9 Gordon St. The declaration designating Tel Aviv’s White City area as a World Heritage site has led to a boom in tourism, construction, historical preservation and business activity, as well as to an unprecedented increase in research studies, art exhibitions and publications on the subject of the White City. A small museum housed in Reuven House on Bialik Street documenting the history of the International Style of architecture has been founded; celebrated architect Ron Arad was in charge of the interior decorations. In 2013, an exhibition on the White City was held at the State Heritage Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia, and, in 2014, an exhibition on the White City was held at the Museum of Finnish Architecture in Helsinki.