位于地中海沿岸的阿克古城(Acre)约有四千年历史,是以色列最古老的城市之一。纵观其历史,阿克古城发挥着重大作用,现在这里是以色列最重要的海港之一。在十字军时期,阿克当时已是一座海港城市,并开始扩大,成为十字军王国的主要贸易中心 。由于阿克的独特性和悠久历史,沿途上,您可看見从重要的历史遗迹中挖掘出来的考古发现。您不应该错失参观古城的良机,这里曾接待过马可·波罗、英格兰国王理查一世(也称为狮心王理查)、法国国王路易十六、迈蒙尼德、纳赫曼尼德斯等等,许多人在早期都曾来过阿克。

 

作为古城,阿克有着多历史建筑物及遗址,例如,古城墙、十字军堡垒,Ramchal犹太教堂、Hamam al-Basha(建于18世界末的土耳其浴室),巴哈伊花园(非常迷人可爱,但比海法的巴哈伊花园的规模小得多)。城中有个独特的美丽建筑阿克城堡,由土耳其人在医院骑士团城堡的上方建成,是十字军时代的主要雄伟建筑。毗邻阿克城堡,有座阿克灯塔和白色市场,是由市场周围的白墙而得名。

 

阿克的确是个美丽不凡的迷人城市,宏伟建筑间的狭窄街巷,犹太人和阿拉伯人共享同一个大都市区,历史建筑和古老的城墙毗邻地中海的蔚蓝海域,中东餐厅供应美味佳肴,市场中充满浓郁的气味,充满异国情调的香气和缤纷的色彩。

 

阿克古城的美食也非常出众。过去,阿克以其传奇般的鹰嘴豆泥而闻名。为鹰嘴豆泥带来如此殊荣的地方就是Hummus Said,这家鹰嘴豆泥餐馆位于阿卡市场,并没有确切的地址(只需询问路人,您定会找到这里)。尽管Hummus Said餐馆空间宽敞,您也经常会发现不得不排队等候空位。在餐馆的繁忙时段,鹰嘴豆泥爱好者排成的长龙有时会一直伸到餐馆外面的信息亭。美味的鹰嘴豆泥,配上餐馆烤制的皮托特(阿拉伯扁面包),加之服务周到,Hummus Said绝对不容错过。

 

如果在过去,阿克主要因其鹰嘴豆泥而闻名,如今,您会发现特色小餐厅中的年轻厨师,已经把这座城市变成真正的美食之都。 阿克美食地图中的重要一环就是Uri Buri餐厅 (http://www.2eat.co.il/uriburi),它是在多年前由 Uri Yermias建成,他所经营的Effendi精品酒店让阿克在世界旅游地图上也占据了一席之地 (http://www.efendi-hotel.co.il)。酒店得到了国际认可,在许多旅游杂志上都有相关报道。 除了Yermias的餐厅之外,还建议您前往位于阿克老城土耳其集市的Sabida餐厅。《以色列国土报》的美食评论这样写到,Sabida餐厅是“非同寻常,它会让你为以色列的烹饪未来感到乐观。”这家餐馆是当地两名年轻人丹和欧哈德成立,赢得了极高的评价,吸引了以色列各地的美食家前来。

 

阿克会举办两个重要的年度节日盛事:阿克艺穗节(另类舞台节)和Vocalisa国际音乐节,这两个盛事每年会吸引成千上万的游客。阿克艺穗节自1979年开始举办,为不知名的剧院提供了平台。多年来,它已经得到国际认可,并已成为世界各地实验小剧场专业人士的聚集之地,制作人、导演、 男女演员纷纷到此。节日期间,阿克各地会举办文化活动:街头表演、市场日和各种演出,男女老少都喜闻乐见。

Akko (Acre), estimated to be about 4,000 years old, is one of Israel’s most ancient cities and is located on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea. Throughout its history, Akko has played a major role and it is now one of Israel’s most important seaports. In the Crusader period, when Akko became a seaport, the city began to expand, serving the Crusader kingdom as a major trade center. Because of Akko’s uniqueness and history, you will find there fascinating archaeological finds alongside important historical sites. You should not pass up the opportunity to visit the city that has played host to Marco Polo; King Richard I of England, also known as Richard the Lionhearted; King Louis IX of France; Maimonides; Nachmanides; and many others who visited Akko in earlier periods.

 

As an ancient city, Akko contains many historical structures and sites, such as, for example, ancient walls, the Crusaders’ Fortress, the Synagogue of the Ramchal, the Hamam al-Basha (a Turkish bath built at the end of the 18th century), the Bahai Gardens (which are lovely but are smaller than the Bahai Gardens in Haifa). One of the city’s unique and beautiful structures is the Acre Citadel, which was built by the Turks atop the Hospitaller Fortress, the primary monumental structure from the Crusader era. Adjacent to the Acre Citadel are the Acre Lighthouse and the White Market, whose name is derived from the white walls encompassing it.

 

Akko is truly a charming, fascinating city with narrow alleys between magnificent buildings, with Jews and Arabs sharing the same metropolitan area, with historical structures and ancient walls situated close to the blue waters of the Mediterranean, with Middle Eastern restaurants serving culinary delicacies, and with a marketplace full of pungent smells, exotic aromas and bright colors.

 

Akko is also a city where food plays a prominent role. In the past, Akko was famous primarily for its fabulous hummus. One place that has provided hummus its special status is Hummus Said, a hummus eatery, which is located in Akko’s marketplace and which does not have an exact address (just ask passersby and you will be directed to this eatery). Despite the spaciousness of Hummus Said’s premises, you will often find that you will have to wait a while in line for a free table. During the eatery’s busiest hours, the queue of hummus enthusiasts can sometimes reach as far back as the kiosks situated outside the restaurant. With its delicious hummus, pitot (flat Arab bread) baked on the premises and courteous service, Hummus Said is a must place to visit.

 

If, in the past, Akko was known primarily for its hummus, today you will find small, specialty restaurants whose young chefs have turned this city into a genuine culinary gem. One of the pillars in Akko’s culinary scene is the Uri Buri Restaurant (http://www.2eat.co.il/uriburi), founded many years ago by Uri Yermias, who placed Akko on the map of world tourism when he opened the Effendi Boutique Hotel (http://www.efendi-hotel.co.il), which has earned international recognition and has been written about in numerous tourism magazines. In addition to Yermias’ restaurant, it is recommended that you visit the Sabida Restaurant, which is situated in the Turkish bazaar in the Old City of Akko. The food critic of the Haaretz newspaper has written that the Sabida Restaurant is “one of those rare places that lead you to become optimistic about Israel’s culinary future.” This restaurant, which was launched by two young residents of the region, Dan and Ohad, has earned excellent reviews and attracts food connoisseurs from all over Israel.

 

Akko hosts two important annual festivals: the Akko Fringe Theater Festival (Festival of Alternative Theater) and Vocalisa, an international music festival, both of which attract thousands of visitors annually. The Akko Fringe Theater Festival, which has been held in the city since 1979, provides a platform for non-establishment theater. Over the years, it has earned international recognition and has become a meeting place for professionals involved in experimental theater from all over the world: producers, directors, actors and actresses. During the festival, cultural events are held throughout Akko: street performances, market days and shows for all ages.