逾越节是犹太历中的重要假期,也是三大节日之一(其他两个是五旬节和住棚节),所有这些节日都源自圣经时代,在农业史上占据极其重要的地位。为了庆祝这三个犹太节日,以色列人甚至需要去耶路撒冷朝圣。

 

逾越节源于《出埃及记》,本书讲述了以色列人历经长达400年的奴役,最终逃离埃及,获得自由的故事。为了让犹太人永远铭记《出埃及记》中的动人历史故事,以色列人根据摩西五经中的记载,把他们逃离埃及的日期定为逾越节。逾越节历时七天(其他国家规定该节日为八天),第一天晚上的逾越节家宴代表着节日正式开始(其他国家还有第二夜进行逾越节家宴的传统)。在家宴上,犹太人用四杯酒庆祝节日,它是逾越节庆典手册(哈加达)中所记载的必要仪式之一。这四杯酒象征着《出埃及记》中犹太人逃离埃及的苦尽甘来的过程。在逾越节的第一天和最后一天(其他国家是逾越节的前两天和最后两天),犹太人会停止工作。

 

逾越节这个节日的名字(希伯来语:Pessach)源自希伯来语的词根P-S-KH,是越过灾祸的意思。《出埃及记》里记载了逾越节的来历:耶和华在古埃及降下第十灾的那晚,所有埃及人的长子都因瘟疫去世,犹太人的家庭则因瘟疫擦身而过得以幸免。逾越节又被称为春节,寓意着农业的重要地位,庆祝这个节日时,恰逢以色列农业丰收在即。

 

由于逾越节与许多规章、习俗和传统息息相关,所以它的准备工作需要花费大量的时间和精力。根据圣经关于逾越节的叙述,由于犹太人必须尽快逃离埃及,他们没有足够的时间让生面团发酵,所以根本没办法在逃离过程中烘烤面包,因此只能凑合着吃这些未发酵的面包和希伯来的无酵饼。为了纪念《出埃及记》中这一记载,在逾越节中会准备发酵面包和各种烘焙食品等,及含有小麦、大麦、荞麦、燕麦和黑麦等五大主要谷物的食品都是禁止食用的。在逾越节中不仅禁止购买发酵食物,而且也禁止出售。因此,在以色列为期七天的逾越节中,大多数餐馆和饮食店都不会提供发酵面包和各种烘焙食品。此外,由于这道禁令,各家各户和各大商家进行彻底的春季扫尘的风俗也应运而生。春节扫尘可以清除各个角落的所有发酵食物。在逾越节的前几天和逾越节期间的工作日,人们也会趁机装修房屋和店面。

 

禁食发酵食物的禁令、清扫屋子和店面需要花费大量时间和精力,都为犹太人逾越节的高潮“逾越节家宴”做好了铺垫与准备。以色列的逾越节家宴在逾越节的第一天晚上举办(其他国家前两晚都会举办逾越节家宴)。逾越节家宴严格遵循逾越节庆典手册——哈加达法典的记载。哈加达除了记载家宴的各项指示外,还记录了一流的犹太权威人士编写的故事和各项传统。在逾越节家宴上,人们需要大声诵读哈加达法典。哈加达法典运用了提问、歌曲和故事的表现形式,以唤起参加逾越节家宴的人们的兴趣,尤其是孩子们的好奇心——《摩西五经》要求犹太人向孩子们讲述《出埃及记》中以色列人逃离埃及的艰辛旅程。所有这一切都是为了解释并传授犹太教的传统文化。哈加达法典包含很多习俗:进食苦菜象征着以色列人在埃及所遭受的苦难;饮用的四杯酒追忆《出埃及记》中记录的四种不同救赎;还有藏饼,即在家宴即将结束的时候,将未发酵的无酵饼藏起来,并鼓励孩子们去找到它。

 

除了上述一些主要习俗外,逾越节还包括其他风俗、传统和戒律。逾越节象征着从以色列潮湿的秋冬季进入干爽的春夏季。在节日的第一个早晨,犹太人不再祈祷降雨,转为开始祈求晨露(六个月后住棚节的最后一天,犹太人才会重新祈求雨水)。逾越节的第一天会增加祈求晨露的诵读仪式,着重强调了露水对人类生存的重要性。除了祈求晨露的诵读仪式外,犹太人在逾越节的次日夜晚开始进行欧麦计数:以倒计时的方式进行记录,在49天后进入五旬节。

 

与逾越节相关的另一个众所周知的习俗是庆祝Maimouna节,在逾越节结束后的第一天举办,这项节日最初主要是摩洛哥和犹太等北非人的习俗。在以色列,Maimouna节已经从一个民族节日演变成一个全国性节日。许多人相信这一天会福星高照,只要庆祝这个节日,就可以拥有美好的前程,并寻得自己的金玉良缘。为了庆祝这个传统节日,以色列的家家户户都敞开大门,无论是亲朋好友还是有缘的陌生人,都可以随意进来享受主人为Maimouna节准备的各式各样的美味佳肴。

Passover is a central holiday on the Jewish calendar and is one of the three Jewish festivals (the other two are Shavuot and Sukkot), all of which date from the biblical era and have historical and agricultural significance. For all three Jewish festivals, the Children of Israel are commanded to make a pilgrimage to Jerusalem.

 

The festival of Passover tells the story of the Exodus from Egypt – the freeing of the Israelites from 400 years of bondage and exile. In order to preserve the miracle of the Exodus in the Jewish consciousness, the Children of Israel are commanded in the Torah to observe this festival on the date of their exodus from Egypt. The seven-day festival of Passover (outside Israel, the festival lasts eight days) begins with the Passover Seder meal on the first night of the festival (outside Israel, there is also a Passover Seder meal on the second night). At this meal, Jews celebrate the holiday with four cups of wine, whose consumption is part of the ceremony set forth in the holiday’s “manual,” the Haggadah, as they relate to each other the story of the Exodus from Egypt. On the first day and the last day of Passover (outside Israel on the first two and last two days) Jews are restricted from working.

 

The festival’s name, Passover (Pessach in Hebrew) is derived from the Hebrew root P-S-KH, which means to pass over. In the Passover narrative in the Book of Exodus, God passes over the homes of the Israelites on the night of the tenth plague – the Plague of the Firstborn – when all the firstborn sons of the Egyptians died. Another name for Passover is the Festival of Spring, which symbolizes the festival’s agricultural importance: The holiday falls at the beginning of the harvest period in Israel.

 

There are many laws, customs and traditions connected with Passover, the preparation for which entails considerable time and effort. In the Passover narrative in the Bible, the Israelites must leave Egypt in a hurry and thus they are unable to even bake bread for their journey, because there is not enough time to allow the dough to rise. They must make do with unleavened bread, matzah in Hebrew; to commemorate the Exodus, Jews are commanded to avoid hametz, that is, any food item such as bread, various kinds of baked goods, etc., that is leavened and which contains one or more of the five major kinds of grain: wheat, barley, buckwheat, oats and rye. The prohibition concerning hametz applies not only to its consumption but even to the possession or sale of hametz; thus, throughout the seven days of Passover in Israel you will not find bread or baked goods that are leavened in most restaurants and eating establishments. In addition, the prohibition concerning hametz has brought with it the development of the custom of a thorough spring cleaning in both homes and many businesses. The purpose of this spring cleaning is to ensure the total removal of any hametz from the premises. Because of the prohibition concerning hametz, the days preceding Passover and the festival’s intermediate days (hol hamo’ed, when one is permitted to work) have become a period when many people renovate their houses and businesses.

 

The prohibition concerning hametz and the considerable amount of time and effort spent in cleaning one’s house and/or business prepare Jews for the climax of the festival of Passover – the Passover Seder meal, which takes place in Israel on the night that begins the festival’s first day (and, outside Israel, on the first two nights of the festival). The Passover Seder, which is conducted in accordance with the festival’s “manual,” the Haggadah, includes the reading out loud of the Haggadah, which, in addition to the instructions for conducting the Seder, consists of stories and traditions written by classical rabbinical authorities. The Haggadah is presented in the form of questions, songs and stories, all of which are meant to teach and explain and to arouse the curiosity of those seated around the Passover Seder table, especially the children –because the Torah commands Jews to tell their children about the Exodus from Egypt on Passover. The Haggadah contains many customs, which include the consumption of bitter herbs, symbolizing the suffering of the Children of Israel in Egypt; the drinking of four cups of wine to recall the four different kinds of salvation involved in the Exodus; and the afikoman, the part of the matzah (unleavened bread) that signifies the end of the meal and which is customarily hidden in order to encourage the children to search for it.

 

In addition to its main customs, the festival is connected with other customs, traditions and commandments. Passover symbolizes the transition from the damp seasons of fall and winter in Israel to the dry seasons of spring and summer; on the first morning of the festival, Jews stop praying for rainfall and begin praying for the morning dew (the shift back to praying for rainfall will take place six months later on the last day of the festival of Sukkot). The prayer for dew, recited during the Additional Service on the first day of Passover, focuses on the importance of dew for human existence. Besides the recital of the prayer for dew, Jews begin counting the Omer on the second night of Passover: This is essentially a countdown, lasting 49 days, to the festival of Shavuot.

 

Another well-known custom associated with Passover is the celebration, on the day immediately following the last day of Passover, of the Maimouna, a custom practiced originally among North African, mainly Moroccan, Jews. In Israel, Maimouna has been transformed from an ethnic holiday to a national holiday. It is regarded as a day of good fortune and many of its celebrants believe that it can herald prosperity and the finding of a suitable match for marriage. In the traditional observance of this holiday, families keep their front door open so that friends as well as strangers can come in and enjoy the various sweet delicacies customarily served on Maimouna.