在复活节这天,所有信奉基督教的国家都在庆祝耶稣的死而复生。耶稣一生中许多重大的事情都发生在以色列,因此以色列理所当然成为复活节一系列活动的中心,在这里的基督教徒用复活节的7天假期来纪念耶稣基督生命的最后一周。成千上万的信徒涌到以色列参与各种复活节相关仪式、瞻仰圣地、做祷告,同期在海法、拿撒勒以及别的以色列城市、小镇还会举办许多重大活动,但最重大的活动自然是在耶路撒冷举行。

 

耶稣基督生命的最后一周被称为“圣周”,圣周期间,耶路撒冷会有数不清的重要活动。圣周的第一天被称为圣枝主日,一般是复活节前一个星期日。从奥利弗斯山的贝思佩奇教堂到耶路撒冷旧城苦伤道的圣安妮教堂之间会举行盛大游行,虔诚的基督教徒都会参加。五彩缤纷的游行队伍从街边成千上万的基督教徒面前经过。他们来自不同的地域,用歌声和祝福欢迎着来自各天主教宗主教区的宗教领袖。大游行结束于圣安妮教堂,在那里有许多乐队奏乐来增添欢快的气氛。圣星期四的濯足节这天,基督教徒会举行濯足仪式,届时全年开放的圣墓教堂大门将会关闭,但会针对四个特殊仪式悄悄开放。濯足仪式之后,是圣餐仪式。仪式上,信徒们领取象征耶稣的血与肉的圣餐。接下来,神职人员们将会环绕着耶稣的空墓举行游行仪式。

 

“耶稣受难日”游行在圣周六的圣火仪式之前举行。 根据基督教传统,耶稣受难日是为了纪念耶稣被钉死在十字架上这天而设。

 

耶路撒冷大游行有成千上万的基督教徒参加。他们扛着巨大的十字架,重演耶稣的苦行之路,经过14个代表耶稣最后生命阶段的小站,直到耶路撒冷旧城的圣墓教堂。在基督东正教中,圣火仪式是极为重要的活动。仪式开始于圣墓教堂,为了保证能够进入圣墓教堂,一大早虔诚的基督教徒就会聚集排队,等待着打开教堂大门。进入教堂后,希腊东正教大牧首将会在某个时刻独自带着熄灭的火炬进入圣墓祷告。在火炬重新点燃之后,他会将火炬展示给其他教派的代表们。接着,其他代表们将会用此火炬来点燃他们自己的火炬,并举着火炬进入教堂,将火焰逐个传给其他人。近年来,无数无法亲自到场的基督教徒们可以通过现场直播来观看教堂里的仪式。

 

除了耶路撒冷之外,在以色列一些人口众多的地区也会举办许多与复活节相关的活动,比如海法和拿撒勒。圣枝主日这天去海法,则有机会看到传统游行——教徒们举着棕榈树叶经过海法的各个教堂。游行始于希腊东正教堂,经过天主教堂——在那里天主教徒们会加入游行,再经过拉丁教堂和马龙派教堂,最后在新东正教堂结束游行;在拿撒勒的圣枝主日,游客们则可以和当地居民及其他虔诚的基督教徒一起随着行进在大街小巷中,这宗教节日游行队伍中,众多身着节日盛装的人们都会参加游行,别有一番情调在其中。

On Easter, the Christian world commemorates Jesus’ death and resurrection. Israel, which is where the major events in his life is a central focus point on this holiday. The Christian communities in Israel mark the holiday of Easter for seven days to commemorate the last week of Jesus’s life. The many events taking place in Israel during this period attract thousands of Christian pilgrims who come to Israel in order to participate in the various ceremonies relating to Easter, to visit the holy places and to pray there. Although many ceremonies and events are held in Haifa, Nazareth and additional cities and towns in Israel, the central events naturally take place in Jerusalem.

 

During Holy Week or Easter Week, numerous events are held in Jerusalem. On the first day of Holy Week, Palm Sunday, which is the last Sunday before Easter, devout Christians participate in a procession that starts from the Bethpage Church on the Mount of Olives and ends in the Church of St. Anne’s, located on the Via Dolorosa in the Old City of Jerusalem. The colorful procession passes before thousands of Christian faithful from different countries around the world who stand on the sidelines, welcoming the heads of the Catholic Patriarchate with blessings and song. As noted above, the procession ends at the Church of St. Anne’s where many bands play tunes to add to the joyous occasion. On Maundy Thursday or Holy Thursday, Christians engage in a foot-washing ceremony. On that day, although the doors of the Church of the Holy Sepulcher are open throughout the year, they are closed and are reopened clandestinely and only on four occasions. After the foot-washing ceremony, the Christian sacrament of the Eucharist is observed, in which the Christian faithful symbolically partake of the blood and flesh of Jesus. Following the Eucharist, members of the clergy participate in a breathtaking procession around Jesus’ empty tomb.

 

The Good Friday procession precedes Holy or Great Saturday when the Ceremony of the Holy Fire is held. According to Christian tradition, Good Friday marks the day on which Jesus was crucified. The procession in which thousands of Christians participate is held in Jerusalem; the participants, carrying huge crucifixes, reenact the path Jesus followed along the Via Dolorosa. They pass the 14 stations marking the final stages of Jesus’ life until they reach the Church of the Holy Sepulcher in the Old City of Jerusalem. The Ceremony of the Holy Fire is the most important event in the Christian Orthodox world. The ceremony begins in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. In the early hours of the morning, many devout Christians gather in order to secure their place in line for entry into the Church of the Holy Sepulcher, awaiting the sign that the doors will be opened. Within the church, the Greek Orthodox Patriarch will at a certain moment enter the Holy Sepulcher by himself with an extinguished torch and will pray there. After the torch has been rekindled, he will show the torch to the representatives of the other denominations who will then light their torches from the torch he is holding and will carry them into the church, where the fire will be passed among those present from one to another. In recent years, the ceremony inside the church was broadcast live to the millions of Christians unable to attend it in person in Jerusalem.

 

In addition to Jerusalem, many events are held in connection with Easter in other cities and towns in Israel with a large Christian population, such as Haifa and Nazareth. Although there are various traditions among the different Christian communities in Israel regarding the date of Easter, visitors to Haifa on Palm Sunday will have the opportunity of seeing the traditional procession there in which Christians holding palm leaves pass by the various churches in Haifa. The procession begins at the Greek Orthodox Church, continues to the Catholic Church, where the Catholics join the procession, moves on to the Latin Church and the Maronite Church, finally ending at the new Orthodox Church. In Nazareth, visitors can march through the city’s alleyways on Palm Sunday together with the local residents and many other devout Christians in a procession marking a colorful grassroots religious festival as special musical compositions are played.