设计艺术博物馆

尽管人们经常认为特拉维夫市是艺术与设计的世界,其实不然,以色列的设计中心是霍隆,距离特拉维夫市不远,是座宁静的小城镇,逐渐成为以色列一颗闪亮的设计明珠。近年来,作为本市战略发展规划的重要组成部分,霍隆决定将重心转移到当代艺术设计上来。霍隆市政厅将承诺付诸行动,建立以色列首座设计博物馆,并向公众开放。霍隆设计博物馆耗资1,700万美金, 吸引无数游客的眼球。《康泰纳仕旅人杂志》将其与中国广州电视塔和法国加来的蕾丝博物馆一起,评为世界新奇迹。霍隆设计博物馆,由享誉全球的以色列籍建筑与设计师让·阿拉德设计,这也是其公共建筑设计的处女作。

作为举世闻名的世界级设计明星,阿拉德许多设计作品,收藏在世界各地的博物馆内,而阿拉德则跻身于世界最佳当代艺术家行列,与凯瑞姆·瑞席(Karim Rashid)、菲利普·斯塔克(Philippe Starck)、帕特丽夏·乌古拉(Patricia Urquiola)和马塞尔·万德斯(Marcel Wanders)齐名。身为一名建筑设计师,阿拉德将建筑与设计完美结合,挑战现有设计标准,标新立异,并获得诸多荣誉,例如被英国皇家艺术协会授予荣誉会员,获得伦敦设计奖,该奖项旨在表彰为伦敦做出卓越贡献的人物,以及获得特拉维夫大学授予的荣誉博士学位。阿拉德想以波纹柯尔顿钢为材料,想要将博物馆设计成为一座标志性建筑,从远处眺望,独特新颖,令人大开眼界。霍隆设计博物馆尚未向公众开放之前,就已凭借其独一无二的造型和设计,荣获康泰纳仕年度创新和设计大奖了。

霍隆设计博物馆的宗旨,毋庸置疑,在于展现全球设计、增长游客见闻、强调设计重要性、以及凸显设计在日常生活中的重要作用。博物馆举办的各种展出或是各种大小会议,不仅可以为游客提供丰富信息,而且强调对设计的深入讨论和实践。每年,博物馆员工付出大量心血,做出多种多样有趣的展出计划,将承诺落到实处,挑战当地对艺术的解读,同时,将独特新颖的潮流设计理念介绍给游客。虽为一座小城镇,但霍隆的愿景,是要成为全国设计的重心,并致力于将其设计创新理念发扬光大,并走向全球。每年以色列春季的逾越节到来之时,霍隆设计博物馆都会举办设计周,这是霍隆一年中最主要的盛事之一。在此期间,博物馆会举办两场新品展览,并召开许多专业性会议或讲座。霍隆市政美术馆,会举办各种设计展览,同时市内多家单位都会参与设计周活动,例如,以色列数字艺术中心、以色列火龙理工学院和媒体中心大厦。这些艺术中心会举办展览,召开会议或教育活动,聚焦展示设计界的最新潮流。

“同时,霍隆政府帮助企业单位,大力支持并发展设计事业。以色列火龙理工学院(HIT),成立于1969年,重点研究科学、工程、管理、技术与工业设计、室内设计和视觉媒体等领域。该校现有超过三千名本科和研究生,学生积极参加专业讲座,与设计行业保持紧密联系,以便为将来从事设计工作做准备。除这些单位以外,媒体中心大厦,紧邻博物馆,是一座数字艺术博物馆。来霍隆旅行,与特拉维夫的体验迥然不同,在此,您所了解的设计领域与特拉维夫和耶路撒冷,截然不同,独树一帜,令人过目难忘。”

The Design Museum

Although it is often assumed that Tel Aviv, which is identified with the world of art and design, would be Israel’s designcenter, it is actually Holon, a simple town by Tel Aviv, which has become Israel’s design hotspot. As part of a strategic process that the town has undergone in recent years, Holon has chosen to focus on contemporary design. As a part of the municipality’s commitment to focus on contemporary design , Israel’s first design museum was opened in Holon. The museum, which was chosen by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as one of the new wonders of the world, alongside the Television Tower in Guangzhou, China and the Lace Museum in Calais, France, was built at a cost of about 17 million dollars and became a lodestone for many visitors. The museum itself was designed by international Israeli architect and designer Rn Arad, as his first public building.

Arad, one of the world’s best known design stars, with many designs named after him shown in various museums in the world is listed among the great names in contemporary art in the world, beside Karim Rashid, Philippe Starck, Patricia Urquiola and Marcel Wanders. As an architect and designer whose works challenge the existing design standards and symbolize innovation, Arad has gained many titles. These titles include honorable membership in the Royal Society of Arts in Great Britain, the London Design Medal, which is awarded to designers who have made an exceptional contribution to London, and an honorary doctorate from Tel Aviv University. Arad chose to design an iconic building made of corrugated CorTen steel whose uniqueness is visible from afar. Before it even opened, the museum won Conde Nast’s annual innovation and design award.

The aim of the museum is to showcase the international world of design and to increase visitor familiarity with it and teach the importance of design and the function of design in everyday life. The exhibitions, conferences and meetings that are held at the museum not only provide enriching information for visitors but also put the discussion and practice of design on the agenda. Every year through intensive work, the museum staff displays diverse, interesting plans out of a true commitment to challenge the local narrative in design and explain design concepts to visitors. As a town, whose vision is to be the national focus for design and an international scene for innovation in this field, Holon holds a design week each year during Passover, which falls in springtime in Israel. As the main event of the year, the museum usually opens two new exhibitions alongside professional conferences and lectures. At the municipal galleries in Holon, design exhibitions are held and various establishments in town, such as the Israel Digital Art Center, the HIT and the Mediatheque Complex also take part during the design week. These centers hold exhibitions, conferences, meetings and educational activities that focus and display the latest trends in the design field.

Holon also promotes companiesthat support design to a large scale. This support includes the HIT, the Holon Institute of Technology, founded in 1969, that focuses on studies and research in science, engineering, management, technology and industrial design, interior design and visual media fields. The institute has more than 3,000 undergraduate and graduate students, that attendprofessional lectures and have a close RELATIONSHIPwith the industry TO PREPARE them for practicing theirDESIGN ACTIVITIES. Alongside THESE ESTABLISHMENTSTHERE IS a digital arts museum, CALLED the Mediatheque Complex THAT HASbeen built by the museum. A visit to Holon is a completely different experience to visiting Tel Aviv, where you can learn of fields that are very different to those in Tel Aviv or Jerusalem.