设计学院

以色列是一个富于创造力的国家,鼓励人们跳脱框架思想,勇于打破桎梏与现状。很多年轻有为的人士在这里能找到自己心仪的设计学院,其中一些学校在国际上都享有盛誉。这些学院培养出了众多举世闻名的设计大师,例如Ron Arad、Ezri Tarazi、Alber Elbaz、Dorin Frankfurt、Moshe Gershoni等等。除了顶级的学术机构外,很多小型学校也开设了设计方面的文凭课程。大多数机构为学生们提供工业设计、时装、建筑、室内装潢、产品设计、珠宝设计等领域的实习和学习机会。我们精选了开设于以色列主要城市的三座设计学府:耶路撒冷的贝扎雷艺术与设计学院、海法的WIZO设计学院以及拉马特甘的申卡学院。除了这些学院,以色列霍隆理工学院也很重要,因为它与霍隆设计博物馆(Design Museum Holon)关系密切:

贝扎雷艺术与设计学院

贝扎雷是以色列历史最悠久的学术机构,它成立于1906年,被认为是国家级设计艺术机构。学校建立于耶路撒冷的斯高帕斯山上,学院设有多个专业,拥有超过1500名学生。贝扎雷在国际上声誉卓著,而且从不同设计艺术专业毕业的学生们都成为了各自领域的领袖。除学士学位外,贝扎雷也设立了高级学位,目的是让学生们通过使用设计工具来成为世界变革的参与者。在优良传统方面,贝扎雷也会举办面向公众开放的毕业作品展,这些受邀参观者能够在展会上欣赏到未来一代设计师们的作品、设计的趋势以及对现有问题的现代解决方案。著名的毕业生包括:设计师Ron Arad、灯光设计师Ayala Serfaty、Yael Mer和Shay Alkalay。

 

申卡学院

位于拉马特甘的申卡工程设计学院成立与1970年。机构的愿景是使其毕业生不仅精于设计,而且能够带来具有创造力的技术解决方案。将工程学与设计艺术相结合的学习方式使学生们可以将现代设计理念与开拓性的技术融会贯通。申卡学院拥有约2400名学生,设有包括纺织、时装、珠宝、工业设计在内的多种设计与工程专业。在2010年,知名设计杂志《Fashionista》将该学院列入“全世界50家最好的时装学院”的第15位。该学院最著名的毕业生之一是时装设计师Alber Elbaz,他自2001年起成为Lanvin时装品牌的经理。 WIZO设计教育学院

Design Schools

Israel abounds with creativity that is a combination of thinking outside the box, chutzpah and daring to break boundaries and the status quo. Many young hopefuls can choose out of a range of design schools, some of which have an excellent international reputation. These school shave produced Israeli designers of world renown, such as Ron Arad, Ezri Tarazi, Alber Elbaz, Dorin Frankfurt, Moshe Gershoni and many others. Alongside the leading academic institutions there are also smaller institutes that offer diploma studies and courses on design. Most institutions offer internships and studies in industrial design, fashion, architecture, interior design, product design, jewelry and more. We have chosen to focus on three academic institutions that are located in three major cities in Israel: the Bezalel Academy in Jerusalem, WIZO in Haifa and Shenkar College in Ramat Gan. Alongside these there is also the Holon Institute of Technology, which is affiliated with the Design Museum Holon:

Bezalel

Bezalel is one of the oldest academic institutions in Israel, founded in 1906 and is considered the country’s national design and art institution. Located in Jerusalem on Mount Scopus, it has more than 1,500 students in various departments. Bezalel has an international reputation and many of its graduates from the various design and art departments have become leaders in their field. Besides undergraduate degrees, Bezalel also offers advanced degrees that are intended to turn students into agents of change in the world through the use of design tools. In the best of tradition in the world, Bezalel also holds alumni’s exhibitions that are open to the general public who are invited to see the future generation of designers, trends in design and contemporary solutions to existing problems. Famous Bezalel graduates include: designer Ron Arad, lighting designer Ayala Serfaty, Yael Mer and Shay Alkalay.

Shenkar

The Shenkar College of Engineering and Design, was founded in 1970 and is located in Ramat Gan. The wish of the institution is to train its graduates to be not only good designers but also to offer unique technological solutions. The fusion of engineering studies with design and art allow Shenkar students to combine and advance modern design concepts with trailblazing technologies. Shenkar has approximately 2,400 students in its various faculties of design and engineering, including textiles, fashion, jewels, industrial design and others. In 2010, Fashionista Magazine ranked the school in 15th place out of the list of “the world’s 50 best fashion schools”. One of the college’s most famous graduates is fashion designer Alber Elbaz, the art manager of the Lanvin fashion house since 2001.

 

WIZO Haifa Academy of Design and Education

WIZO Haifa, established in 1971, aims at training its graduates to work in design professions while combining education study disciplines. The school is located in the German Colony in Haifa, by the Bahai Gardens, and offers undergraduate degrees in visual communications, architecture, photography, media and cinematography, fashion design and business management. The institution is planning to launch a unique graduate degree program called education in design. The distinguishing feature of the institution is not just training graduates for a professional life but also training them as agents of change; teacher-designers or designer teachers. As the president of the institution, Prof. David Alexander, calls them, graduates are “cultural architects” who are committed to change both in their practice and community life.