技术

以色列的科技

我们之前已经提到过,作为创业之国,以色列是一个科技强国。以色列研发的众多产品如今已被世界各地应用到生活中的方方面面。这里我们选择了五项源于以色列的科技进行介绍,它们已经改变了整个世界。

滴灌技术

以色列已经研发出多种灌溉技术,但其中最著名的便是滴灌技术。以色列位于干旱区,水资源持续短缺,因此不得不注重研究解决水资源短缺和干旱天气下农业灌溉的问题。1959年,以色列对滴灌技术进行了实验,在应用了滴灌系统的实验田大获成功后,滴灌技术于1966年大规模推广开来。滴灌技术的独特之处在于水流:细小的水流通过塑料管道流动并滴落在植株旁。

圣女果

不管您是否相信,如今红遍各大厨房的圣女果是在以色列研发出来的。以色列的气候需要研发出一种能够抵御以色列的炎热并缓慢成熟的番茄品种。圣女果由番茄品种研发和培育的全球专家Nachum Keidar培育,此外,Keidar还培育出了长保质期的成束番茄。他的众多研究成果以及他对以色列科技做出的贡献使其获得了以色列国家奖。除了圣女果,以色列关于在沙漠和干旱地区种植农作物的研究也已被其他许多国家借鉴。

闪存盘

如今还有人没有可以随身携带到各处的存储设备吗?事实上,优盘或闪存盘也是在以色列研发出来的。这个小装置可以让人们存储大量的数字信息随身携带到各处。闪存盘由多夫·莫兰研发出来,这一小小的装置使他轻轻松松地就改变了整个数码存储行业。闪存盘发明于1999年,改变了用户存储数据的方法,实现了市场和计算机行业的转型。曾经容量为32 MB的闪存盘到如今已经可以存储TB级别的数据,这在几年前似乎是天方夜谭的事情到现在已经变成了现实。

英特尔微处理器

二十世纪七十年代以色列研制出的英特尔8088微处理器被IBM应用为个人电脑的中央处理器。从那时起,微处理器和个人电脑革命永远地改变了这个世界。除了这款在海法实验室中研制出的微处理器,其他许多微处理器的研制成功使英特尔成为电脑芯片业的领头羊,推动了个人电脑的大规模发展。英特尔于近期(2015年6月)发布的一款名为Skylake 的新型微处理器也是在以色列研制出来。这款Skylake 微处理器将用于无风扇的薄型电脑。

ICQ

ICQ是世界上第一个用于网络传递即时信息的程序。ICQ研发公司成立于1996年,多年来一直致力于即时通讯业的创新研究。如今我们知晓地大多数即时通讯程序都是以ICQ公司的服务为基础的。1998年,美国AOL公司以4.07亿美元的价格收购了ICQ,创造了公司收购史上的价格新高。如今看来理所当然的即时通讯,在ICQ程序研发之初却是革命性的创举。如今习以为常过去却很罕见的多人即时聊天、发送离线消息、通过软件向手机用户发送免费短信、用户之间的文件传输等等都是在以色列研发成功的。

 

此外,以色列仍在对以上五种改变了我们日常生活的案例、产品、服务和理论进行进一步的研究和创新。同时,这些领先的技术也影响了物理、经济和化学领域(以色列在这些领域已产生了八位诺贝尔奖得主)的发展,并持续致力于推动医药、国防、农业和其他各行业领域的发展。

Technology

Technologies in Israel

We have already mentioned that Israel, which is often referred to as a startup nation, is a technological power. Many technologies and products that have been developed in Israel are used in every facet of across the globe today. We have chosen to illustrate five technologies originating from Israel that have transformed the world

Drippers

Many irrigation technologies have been developed by Israel, but the most famous are drippers. In a country where water is constantly in short supply and which is located in a arid region, Israel has had to invent solutions for a shortage of water and for its prevailing weather in order to support the country’s agriculture. In 1959, an experimental dripper system was installed and after the success of crops using this new drip irrigation system, Industrial scale distribution of the product started in 1966. The uniqueness of drippers is the water flow. Water is run and released in small currents next to the plant through plastic pipes.

Cherry tomatoes

Cherry tomatoes, which are to be found in most kitchens in the world, were invented, believe it or not, in Israel. The Israeli climate demanded the development of a tomato that could resist Israel’s heat and a slower ripening process. Cherry tomatoes were developed by Nachum Keidar, a global expert in the development and cultivation of new tomato varieties – besides the cherry tomato Prof. Keidar has also developed tomatoes with a long shelf life and bunched tomatoes. For his many studies and his contribution to Israeli science, he won the Israel Prize. Besides the development of tomatoes, unique knowledge developed in Israel on crops in desert or very arid conditions has been used by many countries that learn from Israeli researchers and farmers.

Disk on Key

Has anyone not had a portable memory device that they take everywhere? Indeed, the disk on key, or stick, or FlashDrive, as it is called elsewhere, was invented in Israel too. This small device allows people to carry a large amount of digital information anywhere and was developed by Dov Moran who single handedly changed the digital storage industry. The device, which was invented in 1999, changed users approach to data storage and transformed the market and computer industry. Today, the disk on key, which started at 32 Mb, comes now in terabyte sizes, something that appeared to be science fiction but a few years ago

Intel microprocessors

The Intel 8088 microprocessor that was invented in Israel in the 1970s was chosen to be the CPU for IBM’s personal computers. At that moment the microprocessor and personal computer revolution changed the world forever. Besides this microprocessor that was developed at laboratories in Haifa, many other microprocessors have been developed h allowing Intel to lead the computer chip industry that allowed for the massive development of personal computers. Only recently (June 2015), Intel declared a new microprocessor called Skylake, which again was developed in Israel for very thin computers that do not need a fan.

ICQ

ICQ was the world’s first program to provide instant messaging services on the Internet. The company that was founded in 1996 showed innovations in the field throughout the years and has served as the basis for most instant messaging programs that we know of today. In 1998, the company was acquired by the American company AOL for what was then a record figure, 407 million dollars. At the beginning of its prominence, the program supported actions that were then revolutionary but which are taken for granted today. Capabilities such as chats between multiple simultaneous users, messaging to an offline friend, sending free cellular text messages to mobile phones from the software, an option for file transfer between users and more are now commonplace but were unique back then and were developed in Israel.

 

Besides these five small examples, products, services and concepts that have changed every field of life have been often developed in Israel. These advancements impacted such fields as physics, economics and chemistry (for which eight Israelis have won Nobel prizes) and are intended for the medical, defense, agriculture and many other industries.