当人们听说Windows XP系统、USB、英特尔的顶级处理器,甚至是第一部手机都是以色列开发出来的时候,更多地表现出的是惊讶和不可思议。以色列?中东的小国以色列?事实上,以色列是世界上的科技大国,并于近几年在商务人士和行业专家圈内得到了“创业民族”的称号。如今我们使用的大部分网络服务的部分系统很有可能是由以色列开发出来的。花旗银行、西门子、谷歌、苹果、IBM和微软等世界上最大的公司都在以色列设立研发中心以使公司一直走在技术的最前沿。近年来,许多以中国为首的亚洲公司开始着手挖掘以色列的技术潜力,而像平安创新投资基金这样的公司则在以色列进行了投资。

 

以色列专攻以下几方面的技术研究:农业、能源、生物技术、通信、医药等等。以色列独立之后最先发展的是农业和水利技术。以色列的地理位置决定了其在淡水和其他自然资源上的匮乏,因此它需要发展粮食和淡水生产和开发的能力和技术以满足国内人民的需要。有多少人知道名声响当当的圣女果是以色列在七十年代开发出来的?又有多少人知道如今遍及全球的灌溉系统是由以色列最先开发出来?此外,在过去的几年间,太阳能科技和沙漠作物种植技术都在以色列得到了长足的发展。

 

以色列真正开始发展高新技术产业是在二十世纪七十年代末,最初也只是发展军事技术、部队安全技术和通信技术。由于以色列四周环绕的全是富裕的敌对国家,所以它把目光投放在了唯一可用的资源——人口上。因此,以色列在科技发展和教育方面投入了大量的时间和金钱。在以色列建国的68年时间里,它已获得了12次诺贝尔奖,其中8项是诺贝尔化学和经济奖。在科技发展相关的世界排名上以色列一直走在世界的前列:以色列拥有的专利数量,人均工程师和科学家数量以及科技发展和研究投入均排名世界首位,而在纳斯达克上市的公司数排名第二。

 

近年来,随着“网络安全”和“大数据共享经济”技术的发展和革新,以色列自然而然地成为国际上这些领域的领跑者。以色列的 Viber 和 Waze 公司均被以超过十亿美元的价格收购,而这只是以色列众多被高价收购公司中的两例,如此一来,以色列便成为了国际上投资的热土。许多外国政府把目光投向以色列,以期实现技术上的突破。当世界著名的投资者——沃伦·巴菲特第一次到以色列投资时,他说道:“如果你打算到中东寻找石油,那么你可以不用考虑以色列。但如果你寻找的是人才,以色列便是你的上选。以色列如今的发展程度让我们看到,它的自然资源条件和人才数量恰成反比。”显而易见,巴菲特已经意识到了以色列人民的远见卓识和惊人的科技发展能力。

When they say that Windows XP, USB, Intel’s top processors and even the first cellular phone were developed in Israel, many of the responses are those of surprise. Israel? That small country in the Middle East? Indeed, Israel is a technological power in the world, and in recent years got nicknamed the ‘startup nation’ amongst business people and industry experts. In most online services that we all use today, there are most likely some component developed in Israel. The world’s largest companies such as Citibank, Siemens, Google, Apple, IBM and Microsoft have all opened research and development centers in Israel in order to stay at the frontline of technology. In recent years many countries in Asia, led by China, are discovering the technological potential of Israel, and companies such as ‘Pung An Ventures’ are investing funds in Israel.

 

Israel specializes in various technology aspects: Agriculture, energy, bio-technology, communication, medicine to name but a few. Most of the technologies that were developed in the first years of Israel’s independence were related to agriculture and water. Israel’s geographic location reflects a lack of fresh water and other natural resources, and therefore the county needs to develop capabilities and technologies to produce food and water for its inhabitants. How many people know that the famous cherry tomatoes were developed in Israel in the mid 70s? Or that the most common irrigation systems used all over the world were first developed in Israel? Additionally technologies relating to solar energy and raising crops in the desert have also been of great development over the years in Israel.

 

The real beginning of the high-tech industry in Israel occurred towards the end of the 1970s, and initially revolved mostly around technology for the army, security forces and communication. As a country that is surrounded by wealthy adversaries, Israel focused on the only resource available – its population. As a result Israel invests significant amounts of time and money in technological development and education. In its 68 years Israel has won 12 Nobel prizes, 8 of which were for chemistry and economics. Israel is a clear leader in most world rankings related to the development of technologies, and was ranked 1st in the world for number of patents, 1st for number of engineers and scientists per capita, and 1st on amounts spent for development and research, as well as 2nd for number of companies traded on the Nasdaq.

 

In recent years, as developments of ‘cyber security’ and ‘big data sharing economy’ technologies have evolved, Israel naturally has become a leading player in these international fields. Viber and Waze are two examples of Israeli companies that were acquired for over a billion dollars and made it attractive place to find good investment opportunities. Many foreign governments and come to Israel searching for breakthrough technology. “If you’re going to the Middle East to look for oil, you can skip Israel. If you’re looking for brains, look no further. Israel has shown that it has a disproportionate amount of brains and energy,” said Warren Buffett, one of the world’s most renowned investors, after investing in Israel for the first time. It is clear that Buffet realized that if you are seeking a place where people see and touch the future, Israel is the place you are looking for.