以色列的移民

以色列像一块磁铁,从19世纪至今吸引着世界各地的犹太移民纷至沓来。每次移民潮都拥有自己的名字、外号和编号:第一次大移民开始于1882年,3万名犹太人踏上了以色列,第二次大移民开始于1904年,第三次大移民则开始于一战后不久,之后又发生了第四和第五次大移民。以色列的移民潮始终未曾间断并被赋予不同的名称:也门犹太移民被叫做“魔毯移民”,20世纪90年代发生的埃塞俄比亚和俄罗斯移民被称为“所罗门行动”。自1948年以色列建国以来,大约有320万犹太人移民到以色列,其中42%来自于俄罗斯。犹太人对以色列的向往以及他们与这片土地割舍不断的关系是移民潮绵绵不绝的主要原因。虽然移民的理由和人数偶有变化,但移民的步伐从未停止——在2014年,26000名移民从俄罗斯、乌克兰、法国、美国和埃塞俄比亚来到以色列。

1950

1950年以色列国内颁布了《回归法》,体现出了以色列作为犹太国家的精华所在。法律规定任何有移民意愿及生活在以色列的犹太人可以立即获得以色列公民身份——无须测试、无须等待也无须特批。除犹太人外,他们的配偶无论是否是犹太人都可以移民到以色列并成为有工作资格的“永久居民”。《回归法的》存在引发了众多关于以色列民主状态的讨论,并且在以色列高等法院收到一份请愿书后法官发出如下声明:“以色列的所有人民都拥有平等权力,无论种族和信仰,这来源于以色列作为犹太和民主国家的根本价值观”——因为在以色列生活的所有少数民族都拥有相同的权力。

2011

以色列的经济状况也产生了一种矛盾现象——年轻的以色列人会离开以色列去其他地方寻求发展。2011年夏天民众举行了反对过高居住成本的抗议活动,而以色列经济的健康状况也引发很多年轻人的担忧并将目光转向其他西方国家 。尽管以色列人也存在向其他国家移民的情况,并且共有75000名国民在海外生活,但这一数字仍然相对较低。近年来困扰以色列人的现象之一是“英国逃离”——高学历、有才能、有技术的以色列人会选择离开以色列,在海外大学开展工作和研究——其中就包括2013诺贝尔化学奖得主Arieh Warshel以及2002年诺贝尔经济学奖得主Daniel Kahneman,而且已有数千名以色列博士选择了向国外的移民之路。

2014

近年来,在欧洲的反犹太潮和犹太仇视情绪高涨的背景下移民的状态也发生了变化。在过去,英法等欧洲国家的犹太人会将出生地看作是故乡,并希望永远生活在那里,而现在的年轻人及部分对未来有所担心的家庭纷纷移民以色列。在2014年,大约26000名移民来到以色列,与2013年的20000名移民相比人数上升了32%。来自法国的移民最多,6600名法国犹太人移民比2013年的3400人增加了94%。

Immigration to Israel

Israel is a country that has been a magnet for Jewish immigrants from all over the world since the 19th Century until now. The immigration waves were given names, nicknames and numbers: The First Immigration started in 1882 and it brought 30,000 Jews to Israel, The Second Immigration started in 1904 and The Third Immigration started immediately after the WW1, after which came the Fourth and Fifth immigrations. Immigration waves to Israel continued during the years and got different names: “The Magic Carpet” for Yemenite Jews immigration, “Solomon’s Operation” for the Ethiopian Jews and the Russian Immigration during the 1990’s. Since the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948, aproximately3.2 Million Jews have immigrated to Israel, 42% coming from Russia. The Jews’ longing for Israel and their connection to the land is the primary factor for the continuous immigration there. The reasons and the numbers of immigrants changed during the years but immigration still continues – in 2014 26,000 immigrants came to Israel from Russia, Ukraine, France, USA and Ethiopia.

1950

In 1950 “The Law of Return” was legislated in Israel which symbolized the essence of Israel as a Jewish country. This law states that any Jew that expressed his wish to immigrate to Israel and live there is entitled to an Israeli citizenship immediately – without tests, waiting periods or special conditions. In addition to Jews, also their spouses may immigrate to Israel, whether they are Jewish or not, and become “permanent residents” which allows them to work. The existence of the “Law of Return” created many discussions and arguments regarding the status of Democracy in Israel and following a petition presented to the Israeli Supreme Court the judge declared that “Equal rights between all human beings in Israel, be their nationality and religion as may be – is derived from the values of the state of Israel as a Jewish and democratic country” – since in Israel there exists equal rights for all minorities that live in it.

2011

The economic situation in Israel also caused the opposite phenomenon – young Israelis leaving Israel in search of a future elsewhere. In the summer of 2011 social protest regarding the high cost of living and the overall health of Israel’s economy exposed many young people to life in Israel compared with life in other western countries. Although Israelis do immigrate to other countries, and join the 75,000 Israelis living abroad, these numbers are still comparatively low. One of the phenomenon that has worried many Israelis during the years is “The Brain Fleeing” –academic, talented, professional and skilled Israelis that leave Israel so that they can work and research in universities abroad – an example of this has been the immigration of thousands of PHD’s and other professors including the immigration of Prof. Arieh Warshel, who won the 2013 Nobel Chemistry Prize and Daniel Kahneman who won the 2002 Economics Nobel Prize.

2014

In recent years, because of anti-Semitic waves in Europe and hatred towards Jews, it seemed that immigration changed. If in the past French and British and other European Jews saw their countries of birth as the place they wanted to live in forever, it seems that young people and some families are concerned about the future and are now immigrating to Israel. In 2014, about 26,000 immigrants arrived, an increase on 32% compared with 2013, in which 20,000 people immigrated. The immigration from France is the largest immigration, with 6,600 French Jews having immigrated, an increase of 94% compared with 2013, in which 3,400 French Jews immigrated to Israel.